January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

September 01, 2002 // 8:32 p.m. // The car no one wanted

"Is it...?"

"It can't be. We left it in Richfield at uncle Glenn's house."

"Then what is it?"

I don't know, Mia. But if it's what we think it is, then I don't want to find out."

In May of 2001, we drove the AstroVan to cousin Kelly's (or is it Ashley?) graduation. It of course, broke down in the middle of nowhere, leading to us abandoning it in Scipio and driving uncle Glenn's 1989 Chevrolet Caprice back up to Salt Lake later that day.

Fast forward to yesterday. There was a car that looked remarkably like this one in front of the neighbors house. Writing it off to coincidence, I forgot about it, until today when I saw it sitting in front of our house in place of the Wrangler and my sister's LeMans. Yes, it's that big. And since it's in front of our house now, I assume we bought it.

I thought my dad was joking when he talked about getting my sister another car. That would explain the "No!" exclaimed by my sister the other day when my dad joked about getting a "new car." I should learn that these are never jokes. They never have been from my car to hers to his.

We now have five cars. This means one of those cars will have to go in the back, as we barely have enough room in front of the house for three of them.

This also means not a fight over who will get to drive it, but rather who will have to drive it. My sister and I don't want to touch this car with a ten foot pole, even if it does drive incredibly smooth. All I'm saying is the Taurus may not be anyone's dream car, but to drive this oversized boat of a Caprice would truly be a nightmare.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin