November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

September 02, 2003 // 9:37 p.m. // Musical day

I was talking to my sister a few weeks ago while watching someone on TV who was playing the clarinet.

I asked her if she could still play four years after putting the instrument down that she played for at least four years prior to that. She told me yes, and that you never really forget how to play. This made me curious about how well she would do now if she had a clarinet in her hands.

I have my answer.

Her high school is doing something different this year for homecoming nominations. It won't be students nominating and then voting for the prettiest and therefore most popular kids in the school. Oh no. This year they're making it all pageant like. You have to have a talent and everything. And after days of racking her brain and finding she had no significant talents, my sister remembered her musical past.

Thus the clarinet.

She's playing it right now and she's struggling. She has about three or four weeks to get really good, but as of now she's struggling with the theme song to Barney and When The Saints Go Marching In. Don't get me started on our national anthem or Yankee Doodle.

So I guess the clarinet isn't like riding a bike. It takes a bit of time to work the rust off. At least it beats the sound of the daily jackhammers and bulldozers from the construction outside.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin