May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

July 11, 2002 // 6:42 p.m. // Britta feels all pretty and stuff

Very recently, a new car wash was built within a block of my house. Now it's no secret that I never take my car to get washed, and to make matters worse, my car is white, meaning it's like a dirt magnet on wheels.

I contemplated washing it today, and the sign I needed was when G told me he was washing his Jeep, and that I should drive over.

I've never washed my car by hand before. I'm not sure if either of us have. I've grown accustomed to the automatic car washes that do a so-so job depending on who you ask.

After figuring out various simple things, (if you were there, you'd laugh. We did.) I set about being the guinea pig, wasting the first 40 seconds of my four minute wash figuring which of the two hoses would supply me with water. I felt more like I was the star of a game show, with G calling out "move onto the next one" or, "you're running out of time! Hurry! Get the tires!" A learning experience if there ever was one. Four minutes and $3.00 after beginning, I had a semi clean car, which was good enough for me, I suppose. Had I spent more time on it, it would have turned out better. Next time, maybe.

We did the same with his car, only it was a decision between the $4.00 automatic and the $1.75 hand wash. He still chose the hand wash, despite saying, "it'll probably cost $6.00 the way I want to do it."

So I pumped in quarters, while he reached into every nook of the Jeep, from the hard to reach roof, to the tires and rims. It did turn out looking as well as the car wash, but he did end up spending between $4.00 and $5.00 for his desired look. It's quite the high-tech little car wash, with machines where you can buy air freshners and ArmorAll and stuff.

Will I take it back? Sure. Now that I know what I'm doing. But knowing my infrequent prowess of washing cars, I won't likely do it until the next time I pick up a date. I've had this car for two years next month, and I've never been on a date in it. In fact, I think Britt and Crystal have been the only girls other than friends of my sister that have ridden in the car. That's...deplorable. But I am so not about to conform to what some members of the weekend crew do. Now do I seem like the type of guy to makeout with the first girl that comes along, then take her on a midnight ride?

I didn't think so.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie