January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

September 30, 2002 // 7:43 p.m. // Clubbin'? Just call it "doing something new"

I actually spent Saturday night at a coffee shop and a club. This is totally unlike me, but rather than driving on the foreign side of town with a gift mix CD chock full of songs I shouldn't know, I did this.

Perhaps the most odd thing is the best memory I have of the only other time I ever went to a club was pulling over into an empty and very seedy parking area across from Pioneer Park to change a headlight bulb in my car. Did I also mention it was raining and at least 11:00 at night? Oh, and I don't know how I did it with no light either. And who has an extra bulb in their car other than me?

The last time I was going to go, the other bulb had gone out. Saturday night, the first headlight bulb died, and the lightbulb in my room went out, signifing the lightbulb that goes off in my head everytime the idea of going to a club pops up takes with it a bulb from my room or my car.

To make a long story short, I don't like the smell of cigarette smoke. Even after living with a smoker all my life, I still gag uncontrollably at the slightest hint of smoke. I could be in a room an hour after the cigarette has gone out and still be driven crazy by the smoke. This is of course reason number one in a long list of why a club is not for me.

More reasons: I don't like spending $7.00 to get into somewhere. It's why I don't go to movies. And perhaps it's different elsewhere, but here, you go to a club, socialize with your group and only your group and leave with your group. You don't tend to interact with anyone you didn't walk in with. What I did do was see a girl who lives down the street from me, who I see everywhere and who was on my mind recently (no, it's not a crush!), and take a picture of a couple for them, beginning that whole seeing-couples-makes-me-feel-lonely theme that continued through the weekend.

I had a lot more, but my thoughts just sort of trailed off. The cashier girl really liked my hair, and became about the 30th person who wanted to touch it. (shrugs shoulders) I just don't understand. But she was attractive, so I didn't mind.

The next update is a bit more interesting, I promise.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin