January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 01, 2002 // 8:45 a.m. // Singing the praises of Coke

"Here, J. I know you never win."

My sister handed me a green Coke bottle top that announced I had won a free 20 oz. drink. She knows that only once, the summer I was in junior high did I win something under the cap.

I buy Coke often. Nearly everyday now and everyday while in high school. I always checked the cap, but never won once.

I'm being repaid in droves.

Two weeks ago, I bought a Coke and won. The next day I bought one and won again. Then again, and again, and again. I won five times in a row, before opening the cap and losing twice in a row.

Then the streak continued even after the promotion ended.

In the garbage can in my room, I had three Coke bottles from the previous week. I looked under the cap of all three, and all three revealed free 20 oz. Coke's. I could do no wrong.

The new promotion is one where you either win a Coke on the spot or type in a mumber online for another "fantastic prize." The vending machine on Friday and the Coke I bought Sunday both revealed free Coke's. I'm still on the roll of a lifetime.

Thus far, I have won 10 Coke's in 12 bottles, despite the odds being one in four. Add the one my sister gave me and I have a total of eleven free Coke caps on my desk waiting to be redeemed. Even with these free tops, I continued to buy Coke. I buy them because I continue to win. Everytime I buy one it's like a 2-for-1 deal.

Yesterday morning, I bought another Coke and won again. 11 for 13. I'm on such a roll. Finally, after never winning a car or free tuition or as little as a pencil or pen in a class drawing, I'm getting rewarded in the form of free Coke's. Come on. Does it look like I'm complaining?

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin