November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 20, 2004 // 2:54 p.m. // Nostalgia



Forgotten shirt for today.

The WeatherBug someone downloaded indicates it's a perfect 72 degrees at 2:08 in the afternoon. I'll remember this when it's 89 at two in the morning.

Two concerts I wanted to go to took place last night, and at the one I chose to go to (the cheaper of the two) the main act backed out. I almost left, but someone I knew from high school walked in the door as I stood there.

I hadn't talked to him in over a year since we both found ourselves at a park for the "Lizzie Smart comes home" party. I've known him since I was a high school freshman and we've had creative writing, phys ed and journalism classes together. Stewie, (as I'll call him) and I made small talk for a few minutes before we took a conversation detour that we stayed on for the rest of the night.

Relationships.

With him fresh off of a breakup, we both discussed our recent exes for the next half hour or so, even while the show was going on.

At some point during the conversation, a girl who looked slightly like Tori Amos walked up to us. I recognized her from high school too. Apparently she didn't remember me (or even ask me who I was) as she spent most of her time talking to Stewie while sharing her (excellent) concert photography with him.

I guess Stewie and the girl I'll call Rhian (as well as another girl from creative writing class who wasn't there) have kept in touch since school ended. It was a surprise because I didn't know they were friends to begin with. They left ten minutes or so after she began talking with him to get something to eat.

Despite the main artist cancelling, we stuck around for the new main artists, of which the keyboarder (in a band I'm seeing next week) was a friend of theirs.

Yesterday was all nostalgia. Besides running into those two from my creative writing class, I ran into another girl from that same class, one that sat next to me and I spent most of my time talking to. She works at the local grocery store and sold me a ticket to a concert tomorrow. I even saw the teacher. It's ood, because I can go a year or more without seeing any of them and then I'll see them all in a few hours.

I took this picture at the show. I wasn't trying to take good photos (I let Rhian handle that) so I decided to take a few flashless just so that I would feel that bringing my camera wasn't a total waste. This photo is of the stage, from near the back. The person in the foreground is Rhian.

Oh. And could the person who left the "so-called angels. Good to know" message in my guestbook please let me know who you are? I'm curious and thought someone else did it, but was wrong.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin