January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 23, 2002 // 1:51 p.m. // Someone's in trouble when the folks arrive

(I walk in the door and see my sisters car outside. It's 1:17, and she doesn't get out of school until just after two. She's up to something)

"Why are you home?"

"I have english homework due and my teacher will yell at me if I go to class without turning it in."

"What are you doing now?"

"Well, I'll do it (the english homework) after I finish this." ("this" refers to her spanish homework, possibly flashcards, each colored separately with vocab and matching illustrations like, "el reloj" and "la silla and of course, "el radio.")

(Ten minutes later she turns on Jenny Jones. You don't turn on the TV and stop doing your assignments when you have a paper due ASAP. If she left now at 1:35, she'd barely make it to school by the time school got out. In other words, she's not going back. She has just ditched (or as we here in Utah say, 'sluffed' school.)

My sister does so many things that could get her in trouble, with this being the peak. You see, the number one rule with our parents was you went to school and stayed the whole day. I didn't miss a single class, let alone an full day in the entire decade of the nineties. And if I had? I never wanted to find out.

At least one day every few weeks I find my sister returning home an hour after leaving to school, complaining of either a missing assignment, a mild or nonexistant stomach ache or even that a subsitute is teaching and that she just felt that she had no reason being there. Countless times last year she'd call me to have me take her to breakfast or lunch during school. I can use this against her, and believe me, my parents won't be happy when they find out.

1:50. Too late to return. She is so in trouble should I choose to tell.

Note: It's 2:00. She's changed the channel to Maury. She's not even doing her homework. She just ditched her last class or two to come home. You aren't going to graduate early at this rate, girl.

2:37:

Amelia: Can you pick up mom?

"Why?"

"Because I'm going to a football game. (Great excuse, by the way. Breaking her commitment to pick up her mom from work because she has to go to a freshman/sophomore football game. I pause 30 seconds before answering and tell her I will while walking away.) You sound like you don't want to do it."

"I don't."

"You don't do shhhh-crap around here!"

"I don't have a commitment to pick her up. I'm not expected to! And besides, you skipped school today. You always skip school. You know that you don't break that rule!"

"I had to do my homework. And Dad knew about it."

It's not the most fair thing that she can ditch school whenever she feels the urge to while I was not only expected to but in some cases almost forced to attend. I can vividly recall a day during my sophomore year in which so much snow fell that the school bus didn't even bother picking us up and hopping on the public bus (which had ceased operation that morning) later that morning and going to school despite the fact that because the snow was so bad, only 50-100 kids showed up that day. She has my dad wrapped around her little finger. She can do no wrong in his eyes. A free gas card for her to squander around town as well as a free car when I spent two years paying mine off? Ridiculous. Plus, she got a ticket within her first few months of having a license without even an uproar and breaks the law everytime she drives by having friends in her car. We'll see what happens next time she needs me to do something for her.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin