November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

February 25, 2003 // 9:29 a.m. // Don't Know Why

So is Norah Jones the new Hootie & The Blowfish? By that I mean how do four million plus people own her album but not a single person will admit to it.

And everytime I talk about her, do I need to phrase my sentence like I'm at an AA meeting? "Hi. My name is Jason. And I'm a Norah Jones fan."

I'm a Norah Jones fan. There. I said it. I'm glad she won five Grammys. I'm glad she was responsible for eight. I was even glad when the only news one of my classmates brought to the table in the daily world news roundup (it can't be U.S. news no matter how big it is. As we found out, even if 97 die in a nightclub) was that Norah Jones won five Grammys. After the teacher responded that he only wanted world news (and implied that he only wanted important news. He sure did work in a sly story about Live Aid thirty minutes later though) she meekly repeated her statement of, "but she won five Grammys."

So do I think she deserved to win every category she was in? No. But would I rather see her win than someone like Avril "I've never seen a camera I didn't want to kick at or roar at" Lavigne? Yes. Is Norah overrated? Probably. But there are a few other people who won that I think are overrated. There are people who win every year that are overrated. Everyone's a critic including myself. Everybody's got their something.

And now the next Grammy rant. Some people think nobody is deserving of five or even more than three Grammys in a year or that nobody deserves so many for their first album.

In 1999, Lauryn Hill won five. In 2000, Santana won eight. In 2002, Alicia Keys won five and U2 won four. Even a soundtrack pulled in five Grammys. Now Norah Jones has won five. Every year someone wins at least three, sometimes four or five, and often it's an artist on their first album or on a comeback album.

I see their point, but if they put something amazing out, why not reward them five times over whether they be new, old or inbetween? Someone doesn't always have to pay their dues. Besides, how can you justify Santana winning eight, but not Keys or Jones winning five? Because they're new and young and haven't paid their dues? Because he's a legend, has been around awhile and hadn't won a Grammy prior to that? If being a legend is a prerequisite, let's just give best album to Michael Jackson or The Rolling Stones regardless of whether they have an album out or not.

The Grammy's is if anything controversial and a great topic of conversation topic. We have conversations every year over who should have won, who should have lost, and who shouldn't have even been nominated.

Ok. End of rant. It's time to actually watch the Grammys that I opted to record so that I could watch Surreal Life. After that, I'll continue my quest to see if I can find one of the four million plus owners of Come Away With Me. They have to be out there somewhere.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin