November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

April 16, 2003 // 9:17 p.m. // Long drive to nowhere

Deciding that Ogden isn't nearly interesting enough for me to spend 6 1/2 hours in even though I could have killed time taking pictures, developing film, buying a fan and video tapes, I decided to drive home after school and opted to head back up for the lit mag end of the year celebration due to having a poem that was published.

I received a call a few weeks ago telling me that it was going to be on the 16th and on the third floor of the union building. Since it has been in that location both years prior, I told him I knew what he was talking about.

Today rolls around and despite running late, I make the thirty mile thirty-five minute trip with fifteen or so minutes to spare. I head to the union building, and I don't see the familiar signs telling me that the gala is tonight. I head to the room where it is supposed to be and it's empty and locked. Frantic, I began running around the third floor of the union building for some sign of the gathering.

Nada.

While searching, I stumbled across the main office, knocked and received no answer. None of the twenty or so notes on the door (seriously. This door looked like an art collage with all different colors of paper) directed me to the location of the gathering. I did see a paper that mentioned that the classroom for the magazine was in a different building (coincidentally also on the third floor) and ran over there in case in some mental lapse they had decided to hold a semi-formal party with thirty of the publishers and who knows how many family and friends in a fifteen by ten classroom.

Like I had suspected, it wasn't. Outside the door there was a paper that advertised the event and underlined was the date April 23rd. They had changed the date and I had no clue. The website had the new date and I had no clue. They didn't email us to tell us or anything.

Needless to say, I was a bit frustrated about the whole thing. Gas isn't cheap, but at least it gave me a chance to listen to a double CD I bought yesterday, one of twelve CD's and four DVD's I've bought since Friday.

Two hours of my time lost. I so could have been watching Family Guy.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin