November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

January 18, 2003 // 7:14 p.m. // My brief afternoon of shopping

I'd be lying if I said there wasn't a part of me that wanted to head off to Vegas to gamble when I turn 21 in a month from yesterday. I've never been to Las Vegas. I've never even been to Nevada. In fact, I've never been farther west than the Great Salt Lake. This means I've never been to some of the fun parts of Canada, or even Washington, Oregon or California. Forget Disneyland, I've never seen any body of water other than the nasty, salty Great Salt Lake.

Maybe I could win enough to buy this for myself. Either that, or begin begging now for everyone I know to chip in $10 in lieu of a gift. It'd only take about 30 people. I think I could do that. 30 people in 30 days. That should be my new goal.

I spent today at one of the many expos that are in town. In addition to an auto expo that I should be hitting tomorrow afternoon, I attended one of those "here today gone tomorrow" events where 30 or so vendors selling everything from leather jackets and wallets to shoes and clothing. I stayed within a bugdget until I saw a brandname of pants that I had been eyeing for months, but that was always hard to find locally. It's the only time you'll ever see me looking at anything with a brand name. It took me a good four or five searches that yielded nothing through the piles of pants arranged in no particular order before suddenly stumbling upon two pair ten minutes later in what I believe is the correct size for me. It's been more than three years since I've bought jeans, so I wouldn't be surprised if I made a mistake.

Total pair of pants bought: 3. Total pair of non-name brand pants bought that I like even more than the expensive ones: 2.

Total number of identical shirts in everything but color that I'll probably never wear: 2.

Look on the girls face when she made a comment about me and realized I heard it: Priceless.

_______________________________________________________

I actually bought a wallet that I like at Wal-Mart yesterday that I broke within an hour of returning home. Because of that, I bought another one today.

I don't like parting with wallets. I had a cheap turqoise velcro one that I bought on a trip to Denver when I was 11 that I used for almost eight years. Two years ago I switched to a leather wallet that has done me quite well, but I may be switching again, should this wallet suit my needs.

I always compare shopping for a wallet to shopping for a house. You need to see if the new wallet is the right size for you and will accomodate all of the items from the old one, and it will also need to provide you easy access to everything in it. Perhaps the worst part about "the switch" is re-learning where everything is located so that you don't look foolish at the grocery store when searching for one of your I.D. cards.

Not that that's ever happened to me.

I'm thinking now would be a good time to try on the items I bought so that should they not fit, I can make a return before the stores are gone. But for now, I'm just happy they had anything remotely near my size. Those 31 or 32" waist with a 34" length carpenter jeans were about as easy to find as those size 15 shoes.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin