January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

July 31, 2002 // 12:35 p.m. // Everybody cut footloose

My sister is upset. You see, apparently, someone took the tape that she videotaped her friends on and recorded, well, feet. And as soon as I heard and saw this, I knew it could only be the work of one person:

My dad.

You see, he's been known to record the wall during my sister's basketball games. He has been known to set a camera down in his school classroom, not know that it's recording, and have 35 minutes of dialogue and a still shot on a computer or something. Even back in the 80's with the bulky video camera, he'd do this.

Flash forward to today. She found the tape, and asked if it was the one I recorded a few days ago. I said no, asked why, and she said "because someone recorded feet."

And sure enough, there was the hallway, and every so often, you'd see someone walk by, only identifiable by the shoes they were wearing.

Obviously, she was upset.

And so was he, but for a different reason. You see, when I recorded my sister reading from that book, I opened a brand new tape.

"Why does everyone do that? I never have new tapes!"

"Yeah, dad. But you'd only use them to record 90 minutes of feet."

I maintain that sarcasm is my best tool.

So she's not happy, he's not happy, and I'll have to transfer what I recorded on that tape to another tape. So he can record something. Hopefully not feet again.

I just find it funny that he deletes my digital pictures on a daily basis, throws away paper after paper without so much as a glance, and when my music file gets too full, he's been known to delete my songs without knowing who sings them or if I need them.

"Where's that Counting Crows song at?"

"Who?"

(slowly) "Counting Crows." I always find them in the recycle bin.

What makes this all worth it? When he loses a phone number he's scrawled on a piece of paper, and we watch him throw it away.

Karma. It always gets a laugh.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin