January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 24, 2002 // 7:50 a.m. // So did my parents just give up?

My sister is still here. Her school is starting right this very minute. Just as I was about to take a hot bath on my day off from school, she weaseled her way into the bathroom, and began running a bath.

I don't know what spell my parents are under or if they just stopped caring about this perfect attendance thing that was drilled into me from day one. I can recall them making appointments with teachers (long appointments) to discuss a single absence on a day where it was either excused due to a school event or the teacher was careless. If they're willing to do this for me two or three years ago, why are they just letting her ditch all afternoon yesterday, and this morning? If she's staying home because she doesn't have her "assignments" done for english, she needs to just face the music, show up in class, and accept the consequences. If you don't study for a test, you still have to take it. If you wait until the last day of the semester to read your 400 page novel, you pay the consequences. Paying the consequences doesn't involve coming home two hours early yesterday afternoon to watch Jenny Jones and Maury only to abandon her responsibility of picking up her mom from work as soon as her two television shows ended, so that she could go to a football game with a gas card that she pays nothing for and a car load of friends that she legally isn't able to drive with. And it doesn't involve sleeping in until 7 today when the rest of us are up by 5:30 and lounging in a bath tub while her classmates are taking tests and reading books and learning what a polynomial is.

I think I need to take Chantilli's advice. Video tape her doing everything but homework today, because in the past few days, she has done it all but what she told my parents she would do. I'm not upset that she's not doing her homework, but that she's lying to come home and that she says that she's going to do it and instead just watches tv or takes baths or goes to football games.

Ok. I'm done venting. Maybe a brief nap will calm me down. But if she's still here when I wake up, it'll start all over again.

Update: 7:57.

She just left. Not to school, no doubt.

Update: 7:59.

I was right. She'd never leave the house in sweatpants. I mean, she's wearing sweatpants. She's home for the day, I'm sure of it.

Update: 8:07.

She's home because she doesn't have a first period class. Apparently, she'll be gone at 8:45. Don't schools take care of holes in the schedule like that, or did I get stuck at the only high school that didn't allow them?

Update: 8:14.

We're all cool now. It's a wonder what discussing college textbooks can do.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin