November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 22, 2004 // 11:13 p.m. // Back of sorts

Welcome, welcome.

I haven't read anyone for the last few weeks. Computer issues. Gotta love them. We have three computers here, and they all seem to have a problem or another.

Computer One: The provider. The primary computer lost its internet connection months ago. I was able to bring it back last weekend, but only for an afternoon.

Computer Two: Ms. simplistic. This computer suffers from a fistful of fatal errors and as a result, we decided to reinstall Windows on it. Good idea in theory, but I don't think I have to tell any of you twice that when you decide to reinstall something as huge as Windows, make sure you know where the Windows discs are! As it is, the computer is essentially a paperweight with a solid blue screen taunting us all. For a time I was going to refer to this computer as the "Yasser Arafat" because it was brain dead and only being kept alive by the plug, but I figured that'd be too insensitive, but That's So Jason.

Computer Three: The red-headed stepchild. Nobody likes this computer but me. It was our most popular computer until we bought Computer One. Now, I'm the only person who uses it, or was rather, as it's our only computer with internet access and it's now the main computer. The CD burning program stopped working on it, so I uninstalled it and now the computer folds its figurative arms and won't let me reinstall it.

So briefly: One computer has no internet access, one computer has no access period, and this one has internet, but for some reason, you can't access secure sites or nearly any site requiring a password. This means no online credit card payments, no access to three of my five email accounts and most importantly to me, no access to concertomine.com or ebay.

A few other things that have transpired this month:

  • I think I should kick this one out right off the bat, since there was a bit of a cliffhanger from the last entry.

    On the ninth, the opening band featured a singer that looked *exactly* like a girl I knew. The whole time I kept insisting it was her. Ans since they were the first of four bands, I figured they were locals. When I talked to them after the show, I found out that the girl did in fact have the same name as the girl I was thinking of. I was *convinced* it was her until I found out that the band member was a model and has lived all over the world and wasn't raised in Utah like the girl I know. Anyway, it was one of The Ditty Bops and I'll leave it to you to figure out which one. Wait. The comments I made spoiled it. Ah well.

  • I nearly had my camera revoked at the door at the Le Tigre show on the 10th, one night after the awesome show I went to there on the night before. The girl in front of me almost did too. Rather than take it to my car and head back in with my $18 ticket, I sat in my car for a few minutes, and then headed home. I mean, yeah I respect (leader of the band) Kathleen Hanna for doing more for female music in the 90's than nearly anyone has ever, but no cameras at this show but allowing them at other shows?? Come on. You've only been photographed about 500,000 times in the last 15 years, what's 30 more without a flash? I really hate to throw in the whole feminist thing, so I won't.

  • On the other hand, I went picture happy at the local show I went to on the 21st. Awesome awesome bands. (The Annuals and Chubby Bunny)

  • The only downside of the show? I lost all of the photos when I inserted the memory card into the computer. I decided to try a file recovery program, but in order to do that, I had to download it on the computer I'm using now since it's the only one with internet. This computer has very little storage space, so recovering the photos (which I was able to do) took up a ton of space. I'm currently trying to figure a way to transfer them from this computer to another, but can't via memory card (because it's still damaged) or via CD-RW (because the software is screwy and I uninstalled it). Did that make any sense to anyone? As it is, I have just over a gigabyte of photos on this computer that I need to transfer, and probably will do so via a 64MB memory card, meaning it'll take me fifteen or so trips between the two computers to do so.

  • I lost my cell phone and still haven't found it. After growing tired of looking, I headed to the Sprint store, paid a hefty price for a phone I liked and am patiently waiting four to six weeks for my $150 rebate to come in. I was somewhat in need of a new phone anyway, as I had lived with my old one for exactly two years. For at least eighteen months of that time it had a huge crack in the screen from a hard drop it took. I know it had the crack for that long because Britt would always ask if I planned on getting a new phone soon due to the crack mine had, and that carried on for months. I haven't talked to her in a year, so yeah, it's been about eighteen months.

  • Speaking of Britt, someone from a number with a prefix that I vaguely recall to be hers called me this morning, though it may be a wrong number, as I can't imagine her calling me after thirteen months of not speaking and at 7:36 in the morning to boot. But then again, it may be her, as I saw her boyfriend at the mall this weekend. Regardless, I sent a message to the number that read, "who is this?" and am waiting for a reply.

  • I took a trip. I'll post a few pictures soon.

  • I had this really odd dream about a kind of/sort of ex that really freaked me out. The part that I remembered involved bowling, her pretending (or maybe not knowing) who I was and walking around the city.

  • I also had this very eerie moment that involved her while taking my mom to work. It appears that her name is a street near where my mom works, which would mean nothing, except for the fact that it's a) unusual and b) three streets down was a street with her cousins name, which is even more unusual than hers. It makes the Polo desk story seem less interesting. I'm getting chills just thinking about it.

  • I had a lengthy conversation with a friend who has decided to make a big leap.

  • My sister is in town and has been for five days now. I believe she's in the living room watching an installment of Real World/Road Rules. Oh. I hear the MTV News jingle. Must me ten to the hour.

  • I found some photos I took of someone I have tremendous respect for displayed on their site with my copyright info deleted. She did add a link and give me credit, but the only way to see that I took the photo is by moving your mouse over the picture.

  • Ron Artest. "Basketbrawl." A phrase I really could go the rest of my life without hearing. Same goes for Fiesta Bowl. Don't settle for that, Ute fans and players! Don't be content until they have you playing Auburn, Cal or Texas. Or better yet, a historic bowl like the Sugar, Orange, Rose, Peach or Cotton.

I suppose I just had to throw in this extremely long list (apologies to everyone) because it had been awhile since I updated. There are two things I didn't include, more because scanned photos emphasize it more than my words would. Hopefully, computer/memory card issues will improve, and I'll get back into online journaling.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin