January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021
Recapping a friendship #1 - December 20, 2021
The one where I have a rough weekend and debate sharing it publicly. - December 19, 2021

December 19, 2002 // 7:23 p.m. // Sarah K. at Media Play

At Media Play:

Sarah K (cashier): "I like your hair."

Me: "Thanks."

"Do people compliment you a lot on your hair?"

"Yeah. Pretty often."

"It must be a real conversation piece."

"Yeah."

And it's funny that the conversation ended right there.

Sometimes conversations like this make the hundreds of double takes and stares that I get on freeways from the back of a 80's Bronco or in a department store or while walking through a mall on a daily basis worth it.

I also note that my shopping experience involved explaining to a woman who Jack Johnson was, why she was like Norah Jones and why her daughter would want that album over Matchbox Twenty's latest, since the only album of the three she knew her daughter wanted was the Jones one. I explained why Matchbox Twenty is nothing like Norah Jones, why Johnson is somewhat like Norah Jones, and that she should go with Jones and Johnson.

She went with Matchbox Twenty anyway.

I also added to the conversation a customer was having with an employee over the difference between the special edition and regular edition of the Tori Amos album. When the employee didn't know and faked it, I added, "it comes with a poster/map, a charm, stickers, a DVD and fake polaroids."

She gave me a condescending isn't-it-cute-you-pretend-to-know-what-you're-talking-about look, and didn't believe me. I may not look like a Tori Amos fan, but believe me. I know what I'm talking about.

Come to think of it, the Walmart lady probably didn't think I looked like a Matchbox Twenty, Norah Jones or Jack Johnson fan, despite the fact she knew none of their music herself. (smiles) It's nice to know I'll have the last laugh when her daughter, an obvious fan of the more mellow music, is disappointed on Christmas Day with Matchbox Twenty.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin