November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 10, 2004 // 11:52 p.m. // My milkshake? Better than your (bowl of fruit)

I spent a great deal of time a few nights ago reading through old handwritten journals of mine because I was looking for something I thought I may have wrote about, but apparently didn't. I came across my homecoming date recap and realized that it may actually beat the notorious holiday dance as my worst date ever. Or at least the most memorable and provided the best stories.

Don't ask me how I had forgot about the latter half of this story (the after dessert part) but when we arrived at Village Inn, her ex boyfriend was there at the restaurant. She said hi to him, we were seated on the other side of the restaurant and immediately after we sat down, she told me that she had, "better go talk to him."

She returned five minutes later, and we ordered. I ordered a milkshake that *had* to be better than her bowl of generic fruits.

Ah, yes. The bowl of fruit, consisting of an apple, orange, pear and banana cost more than the tall strawberry milkshake I ordered. They weren't cut. They weren't "exotic" things like a pineapple or a mango. They were simple everyday fruits. They were four unpeeled fruits that were...ordinary. And they arrived together in a giant bowl that looked like a mixing bowl or the bowl they would sit in on your counter.

Here's the part I hadn't remembered.

When we left, her boyfriend was still there. He butted between us, extended his hand and introduced himself. As we left, my date said, "call me!" He responded, "I don't have your number." To which she replied, "yes you do!"

Now I'm no expert on this, but generally if you're on a date with someone and this happens, it isn't good. Couldn't she have at least been polite and taken care of this while talking with him earlier?

So that's essentially how homecoming ended for me. Nothing else was said other than, "you're a good driver" as we left Village Inn.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin