January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 04, 2002 // 5:47 p.m. // Homecoming (official)

My sister is on her way to homecoming activities tonight. In fact, her date is here right now. She's apparently "making an entrance." When I told you last time she was going, it wasn't true. Turns out she was just wearing her dress around.

I should note that this is her second homecoming in about three weeks.

And she just made her entrance. Making sure to peek around the corner to know the attention would be on her when she walked in.

This reminds me so much of all of the times I went to the houses of dates to pick them up. It was always such a huge production. There would be people gathered in the living room, girls making their entrance, disposible camera photos when everyone knew we'd be getting photos at the dance. Parents trying to be both "funny" and "cool." It was all so much fun. But why he's picking her up at 5:30 boggles my mind. It can't be for the activity. They may be going to a corn maze, and that doesn't work in prom clothes. I'm doubting it's dinner. Who goes to dinner this early on dance night?

They just left. Ten minutes. I don't think I stayed that long when I picked up my date for homecoming. Blame that on drunk parents and neighbors and dinner reservations.

Now I've got myself all reminiscing and stuff. If only the dance photos weren't so bad.

P.S. This morning? Another Coke, another win. I believe that's nine in a row.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin