January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 06, 2002 // 8:51 p.m. // Forget CD prices. Regulate concert $$

You'd think that I'd be more than a bit happy that one of my favorite authors is coming to town in about two weeks. I'm not. It's one of those rare moments where my expectations became far too grand far too quickly.

You see, no matter how famous David Sedaris is, I still have this image of him reading from one of his books in an on or off campus mini auditorium with a book signing afterward, where your hard copy of his book can be personalized.

What's really happening? Well, first of all, he's "performing" at Kingsbury Hall with the likes of Greg Louganis and Ralph Nader (who are both appearing on the same day even!) and of course this won't be your traditional reading. I should have known someone with his fame wouldn't be performing in a room known affectionately as, S-204 or 'the large theater.'

The ticket prices to see him at this decent sized venue? $22.50 and $28.50. (sighs disappointed) And because it's a rare occurance, they can justify us paying that price too.

There are two other concerts taking place at the University of Utah's Olpin Union Ballroom, just upstairs from where we hang out every weekend. I've seen a concert here before from a similar artist and know how weird it is to be rocking out to a concert in front of a stage that looks like the one in the first Back To The Future movie. I guess I'll just have to get a photo.

I never thought all three of these people would be touring Salt Lake, and even though it is on campus, it looks like I'll have to go, even if one of them is on my mom's birthday. Yeah. She'll understand. A concert to see the greatest band you've ever seen live wins over cheap mexican food any day of the week.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin