January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 01, 2002 // 7:50 a.m. // Stuck at home

"Happy and hungover on the first day of October
Struggling to remember the last night of September."

-The Lucksmiths, "Smokers In Love"

I've been waiting a year to use that line.

Prepare for a plethora of entries today.

I awoke this morning to rain. Actually, I heard thunder, saw not one drop of rain, only to look outside ten minutes later to see a deluge of rain on everything outside. I headed out to my car, and remembered that the brakes are terrible. Perhaps I should explain before I elaborate into that story.

Unlike my friends, I'm notorious for ignoring various things like the check engine light, or the clunk that comes from a bad transmission, or in this case, the brake light. The light had been on for at least a week, but it wasn't until I heard a grinding sound that can best be described as driving on gravel intensified. At first, I thought it was a case of Edgar Allen Poe's, "Telltale Heart." I was the only person who heard this noise, but I knew it was there if for no other reason than the fact that whenever I even brushed the brake pedal, I felt something different.

On with the story...

I don't dare drive my car, especially since it would involve stopping about 30 times in less than three miles. This could do no good to my barely there brakepads. I decided to take my sister's car, but her keys are nowhere to be found. If they were around however, they would be easy to find. She has a keychain easily two feet long all attached to a denim purse that she made herself.

So I ask my mom for the spare key to her car, with the assurance that I'll be back by the time she has to leave to school. What does she do? She wakes up my sister to ask for her keys, which she, like we cannot find. No matter, as we have a spare. As it's only 42 degrees, she added that, "it has a heater, J!"

I have not been in my sister's Pontiac since it was my car. Aside from the various things she's added, she's also lost the use of her driver's side window, her passenger side sidemarker is gone, and it sounds like a motorcycle. Not to mention her brake problems. Despite the fact that they work, you cannot feel yourself slowing even after pushing it all the way to the floor. You have to have it all the way to the floor for at least a second.

We have car problems like you wouldn't believe right now. Maybe car inconvieniences, but problems nonetheless.

____________________________________________________________________

We had an economics test this weekend. The first thing students discussed when walking into class yesterday was, "could you take the test on Saturday?" The overwhelming response was, "no."

Here is why:

No, it's the first of October, not April.

P.S. It should also be noted that my sister and dad, who should be at school and work right now, both came home and fell asleep. I have no clue when or what time both have to go back. (shrugs shoulders) Hope they don't get mad when I wake them.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin