January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 22, 2002 // 12:03 a.m. // "I will show you how to say goodbye"

I spent much of Wednesday quoting song lyrics. I realize that due to the fact that my movie horizons are slim, this is the next best thing.

I find myself recalling song lyrics often. I have a knack for it, and these are a few I recalled on Wednesday and recall often.

Of course, it began with simple little pop songs from Michelle Branch.

"It's all in the game of love"

"You're in everyone I see. So tell me. Do you see me?"

"When none of the pieces fit, you make sense of it"

The Get Up Kids:

"You're a few years overdue. I spent them waiting here for you."

"Every mistake that I made, I couldn't have made without you."

The Bonaduces:

"Do we read aloud from Syvvie Plath?
Pin the tail on Diane Arbus photographs?
Is this my fate?
To watch it all degenerate?"

"So goodbye, I guess, to the things that can;t last.
Goodbye, house, where we all talked away the abuses of our pasts.
Where our poverty could not undo
The love I have for all of you
Who are here, and the one that left us early."

Rilo Kiley:

"That's not to say I don't have good times
But as for my days,
I spend them waiting"

"If you think you're bulletproof, you're right
Because you've weathered all my slings and arrows well"

"How many blows to the belly will this thing take
That we refer to as our true love?
We both know it's dead and it's been dying for some time
But we refuse to let it go"

(For starters. I've been quoting a lot of Rilo Kiley lately.)

Ozma:

"Of all the shooting stars I knew/I never fell for anyone but you"

"Every care that keeps you on your feet/is a care that carries your defeat"

I think you get the idea.

While I didn't do it on Wednesday, you'll often catch me quoting songs by Anna Waronker, Nikka Costa, Norah Jones, Alice Peacock and okgo. I always leave people puzzled when I do it, but slowly my classmates are beginning to catch on.

(And what do you know. My sister is walking in the door on a school night. It's currently 12:01. And heh. November 22, 2002. Years of being a presidential history nerd in elementary school has that day 39 years ago burned into my head.)

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin