January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 17, 2002 // 10:15 p.m. // Don't you just love a good story?

So my dad is in here ranting about how he bought a package of tapes a few months ago and now they've vanished. These conversations are so fun, because I know we're going to get blamed for something that's his fault.

So he's swearing and irritated that it's 9:30, and too late to buy a cassette for his camcorder. He has one handy, but he can't use it, as my sister has recorded something on it.

My suggestion? Since it's too late to buy more cassettes for the camcorder, he should buy a VHS tape or borrow one from me to record what she recorded onto. I mean, I have blank ones. And transferring her tape to a VHS tape would allow him to use the 8mm tape.

But he won't do it. "No, it's too late to get one." He says this even after I offer him one. I just think he's looking for someone to blame and a reason to be mad.

I've said this countless times. He's careless in everything he does. Everything from rebates and phone numbers to bills and his wallet has seen the trashcan due to his "pick it up and throw it out" policy. I mean, how much more careless can you get than leaving your keys in the ignition of your car ALL DAY when the doors are unhinged from the car and sitting on the lawn, and the vehicle has no roof? No roof, no doors and keys in the ignition for a good six hours. He even has an alarm for the car, one which he never uses.

I have a photo to prove he did this, but the memory stick for the digital camera isn't working properly. He'd probably blame me for this as well. I'd be accused of something ridiculous.

But the real reason I wanted to compose this was to supply a conversation we had a few minutes ago. It's a very typical one, one where someone gets the best of him for something that is either his fault or for something he's done that we've been blamed for in the past.

"I don't have any videotapes. I buy them, don't get to use them and they get recorded on. When I do use them, they still get recorded over."

"Just label them."

"That won't work. People will still record over them."

"The same way you recorded over Amelia's tape for a full hour with nothing but feet?"

The conversation died right then and there. He was sunk. I had made my point. What's funny is I don't think a single one of us has ever recorded over one of his tapes because we're careful, but every time I load the memory stick into the digital camera, I see the photos I've taken only days before have been deleted. Convienient that these times and the times when my dad records over my sister's tape in favor of feet have been forgotten.

Gotta love double standards and hypocritcial behavior, even when it comes from your father.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin