January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 27, 2002 // 6:01 p.m. // Drama class drama

I've said this once before, but it applies again today:

"Her jacket was security."

Sitting next to the girls with the puffy jackets on the shuttle is always fun.

My drama class...I don't even know what to say about them. Every single one of them loathe the current play we're reading, The Heidi Chronicles. It's actually my favorite. It's leaps and bounds ahead of what we've read before. Plus, it's modern and has more real dialogue.

My classmates think differently, but there reasons aren't concrete. Lindsey and James don't like it because there are gay and lesbian couples. Angie and Beth dislike the language. Aaron just thinks it's boring. Tara's is a mix of all three. In fact, when we acted a scene in the play today, the girls refused to read the parts because they would have to swear. They even refused after the teacher explained they could substitute "gosh" for "god" and "darn" for "damn." Meanwhile, I substituted none of my God's or my goddamn (which by the way, made Angie gasp when I said it).

I sound incredibly incensitive, I'm sure. I can't relate to my classmates religious beliefs. It's difficult when all of my classmates are hyper-religious and talk of nothing but their religion. I have realized that attending college should be about new ideas and different people and if not accepting others ideas, one should at least listen to them with an open mind. I'll never get that here, and that bothers me. We can't even get through a play without gasping or skipping lines because of dialogue. I wish I could be more sensitive to this issue, but I'm trying. The least my classmates could do is listen rather than question my motives aloud. I listen to them and give them respect.

Ok. Mini rant over.

I found it highly enjoyable to read as Peter in the play. I had one section of dialogue in which I switched between his voice to his Rabbi's voice to his soon-to-be wife's voice and then did it all again. I even got to speak like a woman in a southern accent when I read hers. It was great. The class got a kick out of it. Not to sound like I'm bragging, but it was nice to have someone (me) who had a background in drama reading a part like a play is meant to be read rather than reading it flat as if it were a textbook.

Phew. I'm done. And I know I'm going to miss that small little predictable drama class once this semester ends.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin