November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

June 20, 2003 // 5:44 p.m. // It could have been worse. It could have been disco.

For weeks there was a concert that was staring me in the face but I was apprehensive to go. You see, as much as I love Kasey Chambers, I was unsure about going to see my first ever country artist. I even rationalized going by saying to myself, "she's really not country. She's pop-country. Like the Dixie Chicks. Or Shania Twain.

But then I realized she is *very* country when she wants to be. She isn't like the artists on any of your cable music stations. In fact, with the exception of her lip ring and her hip clothing, she's more country than anyone I can think of.

So as you can see, I was in quite the dilemma. See an artist I enjoy and may never see again due to her homebase being Australia, or not go because of the intimidation of a country crowd.

I decided to go. Despite having second thoughts as I drove to buy the $25+ ticket with her debut album playing on my stereo. I was still making my pro/con list with each song.

The show was awesome. It made me want to send everyone I know a mix of Kasey's music. Fortunately, due to her not fitting the traditional mold we have for country artists here in America (cowboy hats, tight Wranglers, boots, songs about pickups and ex-wives :)) the crowd was older and didn't dress like the stereotype. The crowd didn't even look stereotypical. In fact, I only saw one cowboy hat.

I was even impressed by the opening acts. First by Bill Chambers (Kasey's dad) and then by the duet-turned-trio-turned-quartet for one night only of John Plantania, Chip Taylor and the super cute Carrie Rodriguez. Super super cute. So cute in fact, that I almost approached her to ask her if I could get a picture with her when I saw her walking around the club. The only thing that prevented me was the need to hold a good position near the stage for the Kasey Chambers show. I took pictures of her, but better pictures can be found here for the curious.

I think I was able to get a lot of good pictures of the show. Hopefully I will scan some. Admittedly I've been pretty lazy in terms of pictures lately. I took pictures of my dad cutting down the tree, but have yet to post them. I have so many things to do and the time to do it, but I think I've been a bit sluggish or at least unmotivated. Maybe I need to make that a priority over downloading music.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin