January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 07, 2002 // 8:36 p.m. // This is my stop. I may go pop

My dad hasn't been home all day. Between work and various arrands, it's been a busy day.

I've basically planned my entire day around recording a show on digital cable, which never gets used. We pay something like $40.00 a month and never watch it.

And it's 7:59. I've already rushed out to buy batteries, as we have no AAA batteries in the house. I've bought brand new VHS tapes. The tape is in the machine. The VCR is recording.

And the door opens. See where I'm going?

My dad comes in while I'm in the other room, and changes the channel. Normally this would mean nothing, but we've set up the digital box all screwy, so that pressing any button on the remote will show up on the TV, which means it'll show up on the tape.

So he changes the channel to The Sand Pebbles, which is showing on AMC, the only channel he's watching right now.

And it's recording him changing the channel and reading the movie description. And it's not recording my show.

So I stop the tape, and he realizes that I've been recording. I tell him it's okay as it's already too late, and secretly I'm rolling my eyes that he came home literally the minute the show began.

So he watches the movie for three minutes, and then leaves. My recording experience is spoiled for three minutes of a 35 year-old movie. I change it back, press record, and he comes back, and once again, I stop the tape.

"If you wanted to record, you should have told me. You can watch it."

"No, because I already can't record the whole thing."

"You can watch it."

"No, because I can't record the whole thing."

"You should have told me. You can record it."

That's right. Our conversation went nowhere.

What good is it watching a show that you planned to record if you can't have the whole thing? And I'm sure I'll go through this whole thing again at 11 when they show the show again. Hopefully by this time, he'll be asleep.

I'm sure I'll laugh about this later, but for now I'm shaking my head at the whole thing. I'm so frustrated. Since I'll want to record this show on a daily basis, I'm thinking of working out a deal so that I can have the digital cable box for a while.

News flash: It's only going to be on for the summer? It's been on for a month now and I didn't know? How am I going to get all 65 episodes on tape then? Oh, I am so screwed. Why can't it be on at 11 in the morning when my dad's at work and the rest of the family doesn't care?

And I'm sure you're dying to know what show it is. Your only hint is it comes on this network.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin