January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 05, 2002 // 8:32 p.m. // The key word is "luck"

October 5th, 2002. 7:57.

(Jason walks in to find the dining room television set to MTV. It has been all day. Real World XII is on. He scans the room for the remote.)

Now where is it...

(His father, who has just entered the room finds the remote, and changes the channel to a football game. If it's not 40's and 50's movies, it's football.)

(Jason reaches for the second remote only inches away. His father grabs it first. He now has control of both remotes and dominance over the television even though Jason is close enough to change the channel without moving.)

(turns to the camera. His father, in the same room, cannot hear him.) "Due to the fact that we lost the first remote, we bought another, then found the previous one. That's why we have dueling remotes in the house."

"I'm sorry. Were you watching that?"

"I just need it for a minute to see if something's on."

(hands Jason the remote. Sulks away.) "I can watch it in the other room."

________________________________________________________________________________

Minutes later, I called him back in, telling him my show had been pre-empted by a marathon of Degrassi. You know, the show that proclaims, "if your life were a TV show, this would be it." Nevermind the fact that less than ten minutes later he laid down to fall asleep so it wouldn't have mattered if I gave him the remote or not.

________________________________________________________________________________

It's so like me to use someone else's words to describe what I need to say, isn't it? In this case, it's The Lucksmiths song, "Synchronised Sinking" from an album I've been lazy about buying because it's an import from Australia.

I'll meet you at the library
There's privacy in public places
Oh, but, reader, heal thyself
Put the book back on the shelf
Something's obviously wrong
Your face is all day long

It was lovely when you laughed
A problem shared is a problem halved
It's a commonplace but I'd suggest
Come on please get it off your chest
Kick a stone across the road
Explain or you'll explode

Here we are
Silhouetted in the smoke
From the shipwrecks at the bar
Of the Anchor and Hope
And I haven't seen you smile in quite a while
Why don't you let go of your boy and see
You've lost none of your buoyancy?

So sobersided
Overboard and undecided
Have you come to the conclusion
That you've come to the conclusion?
Have you come to the conclusion
That you've come to the conclusion?

You're unsure
But at least you're thinking
This looks more and more
Like synchronised sinking
And I haven't seen you smile in quite a while
And I haven't seen you anywhere in ages
Knowing how you must be hating this
Going down with the relationship

________________________________________________________________________________

This reminds me. I need to touch on last night and on Sunday. Otherwise, these lyrics are just...lyrics.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin