November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

July 29, 2003 // 9:10 a.m. // So I did get a stub. But I had to ask for it.

I'd like to say the Photo Nazi's were out early and often at last night's Liz Phair show, but they were only out early...and on me.

The night for me began with buying my ticket at the door and noticing that tonight there would be no smoking as per her request. This made me happy. I can't stand being in smoky bars.

I sat at a table at the back of the club and watched as one by one the seats surrounding me disappeared, taken by those who wanted to sit at the bar but had no chairs. After about fifteen minutes, I was left with no chairs but a full table.

At about 9:15 or so, a guy walked up to me and asked that if he and his group could sit there that they'd buy me drinks. I told him they could, but wondered where they'd sit. They wrangled up some chairs from the back, and introduced themselves.

The group was two adult couples. One consisted of a woman who could have been a dead ringer for Mena Suvari, and what I assume was her husband whom I spent most of the time talking to. The other was a slightly mismatched couple, a man who looked like Sports Night'sJoshua Malina and a very very attractive brunette who was probably in her mid 30's. Come to think of it, if you think of the Jeremy and Natalie from Sports Night, you have this couple. A slightly goofy looking guy and a knockout woman.

Just before the opener began, I made my way over to the stage and staked out an excellent spot. I took a few digital and film pictures of the opening artist Patrick Park, who was compared to Nick Drake but really sounded just like any talented acoustic guitarist.

After his show, I spotted someone I knew from high school for the second time in the last month, but with the hecticness and the chance of losing my front row spot, I decided it best not to walk over.

Now, onto Liz Phair.

This was the first show that I recall ever going to where I didn't know a single song from the artist. I recognized a few, but not enough to sing along. I had this plan to take quite a few photos and even a video clip of one of her songs later in the setlist. After all, the lighting was perfect, my position was perfect and I was prepared with plenty of film.

That all changed...oh four minutes after she took the stage.

After taking three photos, the Photo Nazi (one of her people) tapped me on the shoulder and told me not to take any more photos. I agreed, but obviously wasn't happy.

The entire night I watched flashbulbs going on around me while the guy who told me to stop did nothing. It wasn't like I could sneak a photo either. He was standing in the front row facing me about twenty feet away.

Not knowing the songs and not being able to use my camera, I had a lot of time to think about why she didn't want us taking her home in mini form.

I first thought that maybe the flash distracts her. But that thought went out the window when I realized she had been a performer for ten plus years and had honestly what had to be the largest white spotlight on her that I've ever seen.

My second thought was if they would let me take photos sans flash or if it was camera's in general were a no-no. After aall, I took some great photos at the Kasey Chambers show last month without the aid of a flash. I figured however, that if I tried or so much as reached for my camera I'd be booted out on the spot.

I just kept wondering why someone who plays more to the photographers than she does to the fans wouldn't want her picture taken.

Maybe it's all part of the whole diva presentation she put on involving her guitar changes, of which she had more of than costume changes at a Britney show. Her assistant wouldn't just hand them to her, they'd put them on her, plug them in and then on occasion hand her the guitar pick which was on the microphone stand!

Hair flowing, obvious posing, but no photos. I just don't get it. Ladies and gentlemen, our own alt-rock diva, Liz Phair.

I must say that she put on a good show though. All of her poppy top 40 stuff that she's being criticized for from her new album sounded just like her old songs when performed live with the exception of just two songs, "Why Can't I" and "Extraordinary" that probably couldn't sound rock and roll no matter how hard she tried.

So yes, that was my concert experience. A very good show that was only brought down by the Pboto Nazi's.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin