November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

March 06, 2004 // 5:48 a.m. // Pants. Whole lotta pants.

I received a call from my sister at about 4:00 in the afternoon yesterday:

"Hello?"

"J? Did you cash your check?"

"Yeah."

"Oh. Because I was just going to tell you that if you hadn't, Ali (pronounced like "alley") isn't working today."

"Well, I still have some checks I need to cash. Maybe I'll go up there."

"Me and dad are up there now, so, yeah. Just wanted to let you know."

"Ok. Thanks. Bye."

"Bye."

I immeditately headed up to cash my two other checks.

Ali is a woman who works at my credit union. She always works. I cannot remember a time I've gone in there and she hasn't been working. And as luck would have it, I always have to go to her to cash checks.

Now, judging by my excitement, you can tell I was glad that she wasn't working. She's condesending, she's rude and she makes you feel like you're doing her a disservice by adding or withdrawing money to or from your account. The only downside is there is another rude employee there as well, and I got stuck at her window. She spent the entire time I was at her window on the phone with someone who obviously wasn't calling about anything relating to the credit union.

With time to kill, I decided to head over to Mervyns. I live at their 40/60/80% off sale racks. I've bought two of my favorite pair of pants from those racks.

When I was looking for pants a few weeks ago, I found some at Mervyns on the 40% off rack. On sale, they were $24.99. Since I'm so cheap when it comes to clothes, I decided to pass on them, despite the fact that they were my size, Levi's, carpenter jeans and a really cool color of blue.

When I went back yesterday to a different Mervyns, I found the same pants on the 60% off rack. They were now only $15.98 marked down from the original price of $40. They only had three pair (fortunately they were all in my size) and I decided to buy two pair.

When I got up to the register, the woman rang up the pants and announced that the total was $25 and change. It caught me off guard. Turns out the pants were marked down an additional 25% and only ended up being $11.98 a pair.

Now I can't pass up that deal. So I'm probably going to go back up there to buy the final pair today. Well, that is after I take my car to get its oil changed and a few other things. I'm driving up for the Liz Phair/Rachael Yamagata show tomorrow and want to make sure everything is fine with my car. Not that I think something will go wrong. I haven't had a single problem with it since I bought it last April.

Now I just need to make sure my VCR is set to record Nellie McKay on the CBS Early Show in about fifteen minutes.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin