January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 17, 2002 // 2:33 p.m. // If you have nothing nice to say about the furniture, say it here

It's another Sunday here, and while the incredibly close Kansas City/Buffalo game is just 3:19 from ending, no one is here to watch it. The whole family is enjoying our new furniture, which makes our living room look incredibly small.

And I say this as my dad changes the channel to the incredibly boring Jazz game. How boring? The score is 11-6. They've been playing nine minutes already. They should've scored twice this much. I'll never understand what motivates him to change a 17-16 football game with three minutes left to a 11-6 basketball game that has just begun. I seriously think this is the most boring basketball game I've ever seen. And only five minutes after changing the channel to it, my dad has seemigly lost interest in it.

There's more to the furniture story, trust me.

My mom (and sister) decided we needed new furniture. It's true, we do. My parents bought the current four piece set up in the 70's. In fact, our rocking chair is the last relic of the apartment they had together more than 25 years ago.

Nothing in our living room is new. From the bookshelf to the 70's stereo equipment (complete with a record player) to the records that line the bookshelf to the family portrait hanging on the west wall. How awful is it that the only family photo we have hanging was taken before my sister was born?

Anyway, the furniture.

My mom called us to say that my sister had fallen in love with a piece of furniture and that we should check it out. We headed down there and immediately I disliked it.

I liked that it included a chaise lounge. I've always wanted one. But this wasn't your typical chaise. It looked more like this. When I think of chaise lounges, I always think of something more like this.

I did my best to point the attention of the family to other living room sets like those with a typical chaise and the four piece sets that fit together nicely to form one piece of furniture, but my sister was in love with the ugly furniture, and there was no changing her mind.

As we decided to purchase it, my sister and I both hopped on our cell phones. She to tell her friends that they had purchased this great new furniture while grinning ear to ear, me to tell people not to come over, because the new furniture looked like a weathered cow with stretch marks.

We spent hours moving old furniture out and the new furniture in and putting it into place. Except for the chaise, everything is in the place that it will likely stay.

The whole family is in the living room, each on their favorite piece of the set enjoying their new purchases. I can't be all about the weathered cow with stretch marks furniture, even if it is very comfortable.

I promise to get you pictures soon. I also have to get pictures of the clock table I liked and the barrel chair that looked like a shell of a snail. I can't help it that I'm more into the art deco and pop art than my family, even if my dad does use Andy Warhol stamps. Go figure.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin