November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

April 30, 2004 // 7:38 p.m. // Nightline

Tonight, as I'm sure you've heard, the television show Nightline is planning on broadcasting the names and pictures of the troops who have been killed in Iraq. Everything I've heard about this broadcast falls into one of two categories:

1. The show is a great tribute to the troops who made the ultimate sacrifice.

2. The Sinclair Broadcast group, by pulling the show from its multiple stations, has a political agenda, because they donated 98% of their political donations to Republicans.

But there is a third that I have not heard broadcast yet, which surprises me, since it was the first thing I thought of when I heard that this was going to be broadcast.

Exploitation.

Think about it. Nightline is gaining all of this publicity and is likely going to pull in a lot of people for this broadcast, even if many areas won't get to see it. They know that by airing this show, they are going to garner a ton of attention, all over troops who gave their lives.

It makes you wonder.

I've been given two invitations to go to a concert tonight, and I may go. It'll be going on at the same time as this broadcast, and even though I find it exploitive, I know that if I'm home I'll be tempted to flip over to watch part of it.

But not on the Nielsen box TV's. I don't want our humble 27" counting as 30,000 viewers.

Add your comments. I want to know how you guys feel, whether you agree or disagree.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin