January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

July 24, 2002 // 6:43 p.m. // A 24th of July recap

Once again, I have so much to talk about today, but I'll begin with a brief story.

You know those instances where you get so frustrated, you end up laughing? That happened to me today.

I pulled into the 7-11 in the last available spot. A woman next to me opened her car door, meaning I had about two feet less space to pull in. Before pulling in however, I waited for her to close the door. She never did.

I walk in, and as I'm shutting off the car, she shuts the door. She could have done this earlier, you know.

So I go in. She's in front of me. She walks to the fountain drinks, grabs the same 44 oz cup as me, and proceeds to fill her drink with a ton of ice. Seriously. It was like a half cup of ice, and you could tell the ice supply was limited.

I don't ask for much. Just a few cubes of ice in my drink. And as I waited for her to hog the ice, I grabbed my straw. Finally, she finished, leaving no ice for me.

I looked over at her as she filled up with Pepsi. I proceeded in filling up with Vanilla Coke, and about halfway through my fillup, she dumped the entire drink into the area where you put your drinks. Ice and all. A half cup of ice, like 25 cubes sitting there all Pepsi covered and wasted. And I have none.

Behaving as if it was no big deal, she fills up again, presumably with a different drink, and tries to butt in line. You know how those 7-11 counters require you to line up horizontally rather than vertically to the counter? Well, she lined up vertically, and she almost butted in line.

All of this took place in no more than a minute and a half. By the time I recalled the trouble with the parking space, the ice hogging, the wasting of said ice and the butting in line, all I could do was laugh. But it wasn't as funny on today's trip to Target, where three carts and five people huddled around four clothing racks was too much for me, and reminded me all too well of the too small of a room.

And for those of you looking to buy me a birthday gift (or since my birthday is seven months away, a random gift) look no further than a Target gift card. Seriously, I could go crazy at this store this time of year. Even though most of it is incredibly girly or kidsy, or expensive by Target standards, I enjoy the Todd Oldham Dorm Room collection. And if I had room, you know I'd put this in my room.

So a recap of today: I always felt like somebody was watching me, I spent far too much money at Target, I spent far too much time laughing at old high school stuff, (sarcastically) I absolutely love that it's the 24th of July (or Pioneer Day) here in Utah, and I laughed off an odd incident at the 7-11.

Those incidents all had their moments. Now, I just have to figure out how to tell them in some kind of interesting manner.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin