January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

July 27, 2002 // 8:57 p.m. // Comes full circle (or: Watch how I ramble)

I spent the better part of last night driving and walking around the city for no real reason other than the fact that it was a weekend, and five minutes before I left, my mom had gone about her traditional ritual of turning off the swamp cooler at around 9:00. It's barely on now. It's a summertime record low of only 79 degrees in the house. Temperatures of 79 are nothing to the usual 85+ experienced during the day. I'm expecting her to wake up in the next half hour to turn it off again tonight. It should also be noted that after 8:00 is the hottest time in our house.

Today, I've been surrounded by people. Just seconds ago, my dad came and sat down at the other computer, and is mere inches away, a little too close for my personal space bubble. And this morning, my mom decided to watch televsion in the too small of a room, which means due to placement of things, staring at me. I left immediately.

I came in a few minutes later, and she had left. She returned to the room before I had the chance to get comfortable again. So I left again. This continued as we both again left the room. I swear, sometimes she's just trying to annoy me. There isn't another logical reason for this copycat behavior.

And the reason he's at the computer behind me?

It appears that the fool proof CD Creator 5 had a virus, which led to it being wiped off of the computer to save everything else. When it was loaded back onto the computer however, all files were loaded except for the ones to burn CD's. And after experiencing countless problems with the other burner program, I decided to re-load CD Creator 4 as there is no major difference, and hey, it's virus free.

So I load it, and it tells me to reset the computer. I do, and the computer freezes before even getting to Windows. And then it does it again. And again.

And again.

I just leave it assuming that everything will sort itself out. Later that night, I find out that this program also had a virus, meaning everything could be wiped off of the harddrive.

Eep.

Both CD Creator's had viruses. That really makes me wonder about the software.

So the computer is now free of every file that has ever been stored on it. A whole year's worth. Luckily much of my stuff had been saved on rewritable CD's, but everything, including the multitude of songs and photos that took hours to scan are gone. I was able to upload many to my Diaryland account in lieu of entries that needed them, but the others? Gone.

And I can't help but wonder if they could have been saved. if we had taken it to a "computer doctor" if he wouldn't have known something we didn't and been able to fix them. But in the way that is my father, he spent some time working on it, gave up, and decided to erase the harddrive, not telling anyone, so we weren't able to do a last minute rescue of our files.

I had planned on going to a movie, or dinner, or an improv comedy show or a park tonight, but one thing complicated the whole thing: The girl I was trying to contact never called me back. And I'm hoping the real reason is because she never got the message or that she forgot to call. But as it is now, I'm doing nothing, and may do the driving around the city thing again to music I haven't listened to in ages.

Isn't it funny how these entries come full circle?

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin