May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

June 25, 2002 // 9:20 a.m. // A night at Lagoon w/ Britt & the crew

Yeah, for those of you on my AOL Messenger who notice me on for two seconds and then logging off, it's because we have to reset the computer tons of times. When it loads again, messenger pops up automatically. If I stay online, its one of the times I'm at the computer.

But I got a lot of this yesterday other than the four times I was online. About every 20 or so minutes:

"J! We reset the computer!"

Whether it was computer A or computer B, it was my cue that the computer had been reset and to log off the second it came back on.

Yeah, this entry is a bore. I lost this entry once, but this is more for me than anything. I didn't feel like transctibing it into my paper journal. Now I'll proceed to bury it with something else.

With that out of the way, I now get to the "long awaited" (for me at least recap of Saturday night.

Out of nowhere, I get a call from Britt telling me, "we're going to _____, and to bring about $30.00. Meet me at ____ right now." She said that ____, Crystal and _____ would be there as well.

Tha blanks? I couldn't hear a word she said, and rather than just ask her, I assumed what the blanks were just because I know her so well. I was right on the first two, which were the most important.

I haven't talked to Britt since March 30th or so, which was just before the time of internet drama and and the whole spring depression thing. She had missed this entire period of blah, and nothing could be better. She didn't deal well with it when she witnessed it a few years ago.

We took her car to Lagoon, Utah's answer to an amusement park. I had not been in at least five or six years, and I must say there is a lot there now that makes it more than a little bit...fun.

Conversation with Britt is always fun. She often comes off as ditzy, but was always the planner and the responsible one of the crew. Of course we discussed the usual. Her new car, her 9-5 job as a preschool teacher, my hair, school, her "vintage" clothes that consisted of old school Converse and a Mickey Mouse shirt, and how much she despises the girls around in next to nothing.

"I find that a guy respects you more and wants you more if you wear more clothing. But maybe that's because I'm attached."

Britt has never been the type of girl who ran around in next to nothing. Most of the time, she's t-shirt and jeans.

The music selection on the 30 minute drive (yeah, she got lost before she even got on the freeway. But that's Britt.) was John Mayer. Everyone has been offering their praise for him, and I finally got the chance to listen to the CD. "I don't like the same music as my friends. I really like more mellow music." I swear when I just thought of her saying that, I realized that she sounds like a female version of me. Or maybe I sound like a male version of her. We use the same tone of voice. We trail off the same way at the end of a sentence. And when we don't hear what the other person said to us, we give a quiet, "yeah."

Yeah. But more than all of that stuff, it's fun to drive with Britt. It doesn't feel awkward even though we went a year without hanging out and have only spoke once since last July.

We arrive at Lagoon. After experiencing cell phone troubles, forgotten phone numbers and making far too many calls from the parking lot to those inside, we approached the gate, and bought our tickets for only $12.50 from a girl of about 14 scalping extra tickets from her dad's company. She had quite the pitch (which I can't remember) too:

"They're normally $30. You can get two for $25. They're still good."

We were leery, and after glancing at each other a few times, Britt bought them. They were good, and we were in.

I should mention by this time I had finished my laughing fit. Britt does things like losing her keys while they're in her hand, and dialing nine or ten different cell phone numbers, because "all I can remember is it began with '57'.

We're in, we find Vera and Crystal, and along with Mike, we set out on the following rides: The Samurai (quite fun) and Jet Star II (which is a fun but very small rollercoaster where person A sits against the back and person B sits between their legs. Not comfortable when you have no romantic feelings for the person you're riding with.)

We went to the picnic area to meet up with Anita and Candice. The seven of us then headed over to Rattlesnake Rapids, which was so not worth the quarter of a mile line and the 45 minute wait. Think of sitting in a round restaraunt booth and floating down shallow water. Not to mention, I wanted to get wet the least, and aside from the wetness from just floating down the river, I was the unfortunate soul caught under the overhead waterfall at the end of the ride, drenching me from head to toe. It felt like someone was dumping a huge bucket of water on my head. I so didn't like that ride.

Soaked, we headed to the Tidal Wave. Just imagine the days when you would swing as high as you could on a swing, and you have the feel of this ride. Very short, not much fun.

From here, we hit Fire Dragon (The Colossus) and I took my first ever ride on a real rollercoaster. Let me just say that the entire time I felt not just like I was going to fall out, but like I was going to hit the steel beams flying by me at a ridiculous mile per hour. Britt didn't help. She wanted us to sit in the very back two seats, and laughed as we went around the track.

Finally, the Rock-O-Plane. Think of a Ferris wheel with egg-shaped contraptions instead of traditional seats. Not just that, but you make them spin and stop on your own. Not good for me. I made myself sick and lost my change when upside down as I didn't know the proper way to do this.

The girl we encountered in line at that ride so deserves her own entry.

The crew then split up. Vera, Anita and Candice ate at one place, and Britt, Crystal, Mike and I at another. Some kind of a dispute occurred to cause this, and I missed it. We left immediately after eating.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie