January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

July 24, 2002 // 7:06 p.m. // Charrrrrge it!

I had only planned on buying a few school supplies. Maybe on picking up a few odds and ends like picture frames or Todd Oldham products.

$88.00, seven shirts and a double take later, I knew I had bought too much.

I was fine until I wandered to the back of the store, and saw a rack that said, "30% off clearance sale", where the first shirt I picked up was only $3.24.

I could not stop buying them.

One after another, and I'm sure I'll never wear half of them. They're that bad. But the most expensive two were only $9.00, and I couldn't be stopped.

And why do I need five flashlights? I'll tell you why. It's because a pack of three in small, medium and large was only $9.99, where if I bought them separately, they'd be $12.00. And just on the other side of the aisle, were two flashlights that came in a pack with 24 AA batteries and four D batteries.

Oh, come on. Like you wouldn't realize that paying $5.50 for two flashlights that came with 26 batteries isn't a good deal, even if only for the batteries alone. The only problem is I didn't put the others back. So I now have six flashlights of various sizes, which will do me good should I ever go camping (cough)never(cough) or should I ever take Britt and the crew up on their offer to play night games.

All of the bags are in my car still. They've been there for three hours. What makes it worse, is I bought school supplies I'm never going to use.

Like:

  • A stapler

  • A planner

  • A binder

  • A ruler

  • A three-hole punch

  • A wireless notebook for quotes

  • An assignment tracker

I never use those things. I just carry paper in my backpack sans binder. I write down due dates on random paper. I fold corners rather than using staplers. And why did I buy 400 sheets of paper when I have more than a thousand here at home? And when is the last time I've ever written down anything in an organized planner? I will use the five composition books as journals, however. I always do.

I almost bought pens. Had I bought pens, that would have been ridiculous. I have over 200 pens in seven jars on my desk right now. The last thing I need is more pens.

I can't believe I bought all of that. Lets hope I use at least some of these items in the next year. I can't go to Target without spending money.

But that doesn't mean I was kidding about that Target gift card, you know. In any amount, you know where to send them.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin