November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

January 07, 2004 // 7:19 a.m. // It's harder to get a B- than an A

My sister is apparently failing gym/physical education. Well, not failing per se, but she has a B-, which in gym is failing.

She did that whole whiny helpless thing that instantly allowed our mom and dad to feel sympathetic.

The reason she has a B- is because she could only do 340 "jump ropes" (I'll have to ask her what that is) out of 500.

My sister is athletic. When she was younger, she played rec league basketball every year. She was on the basketball team for two years, and was team manager another. This year, she goes to all of the games.

Her comment about the whole not being able to complete the task well enough to get a better grade:

"They can't grade you on your ability to do something"

I would have had to do everything I could to keep from laughing, but they closed the door a few seconds later. They can't grade you on your ability to do something. Then what is school if it's not that? Maybe that means I have a legitimate gripe about math classes, because I don't deal well with formulas.

Still, I feel a bit bad for her. When I was in high school taking phys ed classes, our teacher would unlock the equipment closet, and toss out a half dozen basketballs for us to play with for an hour. It was an easy A. We didn't have to do anything other than show up at the beginning of class. Then, you could leave. Really, you could get a B- or better just by being there for roll call. As for the basketball, I was fine with it. It's the only sport I enjoy playing and it's wasn't something that we were graded on. It was much better than the weight lifting and the (*shutters*) ping pong/table tennis unit.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin