January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 13, 2002 // 5:10 p.m. // Poor Amelia

My sister...she just isn't feeling lucky right now. Perhaps I should start at the beginning.

For months, she's been talking on the phone with her friends Jayme and Kasen. Jayme and Kasen live in Michigan, and they always send my sister letters and vica versa. Nearly every other day, there is a letter going out to them or coming from them in the mail. I should know. I always try to get the mail.

They've been planning a meeting for months as well. My sister has been racking her brain as to how to save money to either fly or bus to Michigan. The only page more prevolent on the computer than Diaryland lately, is various airlines, bus and train commuters.

So they get it worked out. She, with my mom and coordinated planning with their family, decide to take the bus there to visit them for three days. It's worked out. She has her ticket. She's all packed. She's got my CD player...

And then it all changes.

They say that they have to go to Mexico for a family emergency during the time my sister would have been visiting. They also said that they'd be flying to Vegas, and that if it were OK with us, they'd fly into Salt Lake, and the visit would be to us, rather than us going to them.

Following me so far?

Well, it's the 13th, the day they're supposed to arrive in Salt Lake, and they have yet to call. To make it worse, my sister and mom have already thrown a week worth of plans out the window now for their arrival as well as their own trip to Michigan. All of that planning, all of that money and time on reservations and tickets is out the window.

Poor Amelia. She's laughing about this, but I know it's not fun for her. She's wanted to meet these people for months, and it's all out the window.

And one last note: Roman Catholic Trappist priests accused of abuse are apparently being sent to Utah. My sister pointed out that if you take the word 'trappist' and take out the first T and one of the p's, you have rapist. No offense to the Catholic's out there, but if this "we'll keep our priests" attitude was going to come from any sect of religion, it'd come from this one. You can be forgiven for anything with a few pennance and hail mary's.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin