May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

June 22, 2002 // 8:04 a.m. // The night the lights went out in Glendale

I'm on the internet admiring and discussing this hotel, and quite suddenly, the power goes out. No big deal, right? Since there was no storm or wind blowing, I assumed it would come back on seconds later. I waited about five minutes until 6:30, realizing that the power may not be coming back on.

We had been receiving wind and weather warnings all day. I gave it no thought. Between that and Edmunds being found, my sister was incredibly frustrated at the frequent interruptions during Jenny Jones and Maury.

7:00. Still no power. But my mom is all set. Within 10 minutes of it going out, she had the portable TV out on locked on Entertainment Tonight. I realized that no TV was better than Entertainment Tonight, so I opted out of the offer to watch the battery operated five inch television, and instead went for the phone.

After almost two hours of this, I headed out to a park, and both read and wrote a short story. I noticed that all of the power in Glendale was out, and continued tof about a mile beyond it. I did this for an hour, both sitting on the hood of my car and against one of the many trees.

I get home just before 10. Still no power. It's already been off for 3 1/2 hours, and it's a perfectly normal (but a tad hot for being so late in the day) spring day. No wind whatsoever. No rain either.

"It's probably a transformer." I heard someone say. And they were probably right. After searching through the dark for the items I had carelessly laid down when I arrived home a half hour earlier and doing my best to fix both the broken and loose headlight bulb in my car, I headed off down the street, and saw the power company working on a transformer blocks from our house.

I didn't know what I wanted to do. I wore the "make me look pretty" outfit out of the house in case I wanted to go to a club, but I also brought the journals in case I wanted to write for an impromptu third straight night at the U of U. parking lot.

And what did I do exactly?

I sat on the cement wall overlooking the city and wrote in the journal with music playing in the car. After that, I drove down to State Street for no real reason other than to feel the wind blow in my face or the intermittant rain.

By this time, it was maybe ten after midnight. And after driving back downtown, I headed back home hoping that after six hours in the dark, I'd see both traffic lights and street lamps glowing.

900 West. A traffic light. I turn the corner. Street lamps. On. After arriving home, I saw that the power had only been on for just over an last hour, judging by the clock flashing 1:11. 45 minutes after I left, it came on.

And...yeah. So my power went off for five hours for no good reason. But at least the phone worked. I love using the phone lately.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie