November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

January 16, 2003 // 5:28 p.m. // A night of reality shows

May I speak on the latest reality shows for a bit?

Rarely does my whole family meet in the living room to watch television. Yesterday, I found myself on one of the new ugly couches to take in an evening of Star Search.

I'm beginning to think the only reason they brought this show back was to get my family and I to argue. In fact, they should broadcast us arguing in the bottom of the screen like a picture-in-picture feature.

Last night, my mom and I spent the better part of the last half hour debating the comedy and adult singers, while my sister and I debated the models.

I'd provide the quotes, but it got pretty bad. The only thing my sister and I agreed on was that given five minutes at our respective schools, we could both find ten girls more attractive than the model that lost on the show.

It was interesting that the male singer (who sang Norah Jones' "Turn Me On") was a local from the same city that Chantilli lives in. My words come in two parts: 1. My mom has to hear her version to accurately compare the two. Even if you dislike Norah Jones, you have to admit her version was better. And 2. The second person who sang Celine Dion's, "Where Does My Heart Beat Now", a song I'm not afraid to admit I really like, almost ruined it for me. She was horrible.

And the judges were horrible. One comedian (who only remains nameless because I forgot her name) told her that she needed to "work on her range" after she sung a song without as much range as lets say, The Star Spangled Banner. And that same judge told one of the models to "smile" on the runway. Does she not know that models aren't supposed to smile?

If this judge weren't a comedian, I can imagine her critiquing a comedian by saying, "try being less funny." See what I mean? In her evaluations, she took one of the main facets of something and told the competitor that they lost points by doing exactly what they should be doing.

I can't explain myself. What else is new? Needless to say, our disagreements (especially on the comedian. I mean a perfect score? She wouldn't even be the funniest on a random episode of Comic View!) made the night interesting.

At the conclusion of the show, I changed the channel to Fox to catch their latest show that leaves you shaking your head in disgust almost every time you see a commercial for it.

Last night's show: The man vs. beast feature.

And what made this show so great was the way they were making these athletic events such as an obsticle course or a race or a tug-o-war seem legitimate. For those of you who missed it, they actually sized up the competition like it was a boxing match, saying things like, "Well, the giraffe does have a seven foot height advantage and is used to running from predators in the wild."

The show had its moments and was funny for all the wrong reasons.

I'm sure we'll all be gathered around the TV yet again tonight for the semifinals on Star Search. I'm tempted to set up a video camera to record our arguing, because it will be much of the same, especially due to the fact that the two people we argued about most will be performing again tonight.

And maybe, just maybe, one of us will agree with the other.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin