November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 07, 2004 // 10:02 p.m. // Old friends in better times

There was a photo that I saw a while back that I probably saved, but knew that searching for it online would be much faster than searching three computers and countless discs. So I typed in, "that dog anna waronker pictures" in Yahoo!, and came across one description that had the word Utah (my state) in the description. Of course, this intrigued me.

I clicked on it, and came across a website that featured many of my high school classmates, as well as a few members of T.E.N.T.'s family.

My sister and I had just been talking about the guy who runs the site and his wife the other day. I hadn't talked to either of them since I graduated, but knew both of them before I or they even started high school.

I always think it's a bit surprising, even exciting when you come across people, whether it's online or in person that you haven't seen in ages and that there's no good reason as to why you lost touch.

Perhaps the biggest example of this from my own life occurred with my friend Lyndsy. We were inseparable when we were younger. I have vivid memories (as well as on video tape) of me coming home from preschool at the age of four with nothing on my mind but hanging out with her. Once we started grade school, I was shipped off to the advanced placement school and she went to the local school around the corner. But we still hung out nearly everyday and extra long on weekends. This was before the days of the internet and PS2's (we were happy enough when her cousin brought over his SNES) so we occupied ourselves by climbing trees and making up our own obstacle courses for our games of Double Dare and creating our own haunted houses at all times of the year.

As most boy/girl friendships do, we eventually began hanging out less and less. I could only play "house" so many times in the basement before going crazy and she wasn't too fond of basketball. Although we stopped hanging out, we remained friends, spoke to each other every so often and then stopped talking altogether during my sophomore year of high school.

The last time I remember actually talking to her was 6 1/2 years ago. My sister still talks with a few of her younger sister's, goes over to their house every so often and updates me on how her kids and the rest of the family is doing.

I think she's come back home for some reason or another. I'm thinking of talking to her, finding out what she's been up to, because even though it's been about as long since we last spoke as our friendship lasted, I'm suddenly curious about more than where she's living, how her kids are and what she's been doing with her life.

To go back to the people above for a second, I've seen or rediscovered *all* of the people I ate lunch with during my freshman year (while Britt and the crew were still in junior high) in the last year. One stood next to me for hours in a line at a basketball event, one was a bridesmaid at a wedding, the other was the bride, and yet *another* dated the bride at one time and I saw him on New Year's Eve. Three others are all on the site I found tonight.

Getting in touch with people is the name of the game. Going seven months without talking to Britt and the crew is far too long, so I think I'll just call her tomorrow to see what she's been up to. As great as talking to the large number of people I've only known since the beginning of the year is, sometimes you can't beat talking with people who are familiar and know what you're going to say before you say it.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin