January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

July 26, 2002 // 10:57 a.m. // Sampling past events

I'm so in the mood to rant, but I'm supressing it now, because I tend to do things that hurt people when I do. Even so, these rants are justified, and have been thought out fully. Paper journal perhaps?

First thing this morning, I headed down to Liberty Park to play basketball. It was the first time I had played for any length of time in just over a year. I played for over two hours, only stopping because of the rising temperatures and because at some point in the first 90 minutes of playing, I broke the crystal face of my cell phone. Of course, my right knee is a little sore from pivoting, but I'm never one to complain about a little discomfort. I may have to do this more often. Aside from joggers, maintenance workers and tennis players, the park is pretty empty at seven in the morning. And should I get tired of basketball, I can always write in my journal on the bench a few feet away.

I headed to the 7-11 across from the park, and got something to drink. I've definitely fallen head over heels for Vanilla Coke. Only once at the checkstand, I tasted the fountain drink, and realized it was not Vanilla, but Diet Coke. Plus, the attendant gave me improper change, but since it was only a dime, I shrugged it off.

Off to the other 7-11, where this time, my Vanilla Coke ended up being Dr. Pepper. And once again, I got improper change. Now before you ask, yes I did press the right button, it's just that different drinks came out of the Vanilla Coke slot. How do things get this messed up? And why me? For some reason, a visual of Charlie Brown popped into my head, and I realized that things often didn't go right for him either.

Another thing that popped into my head just now was the rafting trip I went on in 1997, because we returned to Salt Lake five years ago today. I can barely remember a detail of it, because I have it lumped in with the other summer rafting trips I've been on. All I can remember for sure is it was the year I had a student convinced that I had split personalities, and two of my friends singing the chorus of Coolio's "C U When U Get There" over and over for hours while shivering on the beach. They looked like zombies as they stared into the other side of the canyon for most of the evening. Come to think about it, I remember much more of this trip than I thought, but after going on the same five day river trip four different times, one begins to look to details such as who was there to separate one from the other.

Come to think of it, it was also the summer that Puffy's "I'll Be Missing You" was tearing up the airwaves, and nobody believed me when I said that it was a sample. "Puffy would never sample," they said. Go figure.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin