January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

July 16, 2002 // 8:01 a.m. // Leaving Salt Lake

I think the reason my sister is saying she dislikes clowns is because, well, you guessed it. Everyone hates clowns. My sister is so into the do what everyone else does thing, that she now says that she hates clowns. She also says she's "allergic" to cheese, when all it does is upsets her stomach. Everyone is alleargic to something, so now she has to be.

She's 16. She has the paper to get her license. And because she's 16, being cool means the world to her. Being class vice president and a member of more sports than I care to count isn't enough, especially since all of her friends are so different from she is. She has to be cool, and it's quite difficult for me to understand because I never have been that way.

The too small of a room is incredibly crowded, but then again, two people in here makes it feel crowded. This room is maybe 10 feet by 8 feet and in it are:

  • Two bookshelves

  • Two computers

  • Two printers

  • A desk

  • A television

  • A TV stand

  • A computer stand

  • A settee

  • Two chairs

  • A file cabinet

  • A table

  • A garbage can

  • A vacuum

  • A suitcase

  • A lamp

Not to mention the clutter on the floor and you see how an already small room can feel that much smaller with that much stuff and four people sitting in it, only occupying half of the space. When three are on the settee and one is on the computer, you have four people in an area that is maybe three feet by two feet because of how things are arranged. So this is by far the hottest room in the house.

I'm being sent off to look for scholarships. It's something I should have done more thoroughly while I was in high school. It sure would be a lot better than loans and grants and work study. But then again, I complain when at the very most I'm only paying $3,000 a year for school. I can't even imagine going to a school such as Berkeley or USC. If my 2002 World Almanac is correct, (and the school websites confirmed these numbers) it's $8,000 (out of state, sans room and board, which is another $8,670 a year) and $25,000 a year respectively at these two schools. I can't even comprehend spending that much money on anything. I mean, four years at Weber with room and board barely adds up to $24,000. But then again, Weber St. is no USC. And Berkeley has twice as many students as Weber State, which would be quite the change.

I so need to stop dreaming about these things. While others are truly experiencing the college experience with parties, activities and events, I'm getting country music, a shuttle bus on the verge of breaking, co-ed's desperately looking for a husband, but with a few specific qualities I don't have, and a city and campus that defines "party" as a double date and a video rental with a Now! That's What I Call Music CD playing, non-caffinated beverages and no goodnight kiss.

Do I need to get out of here, even if for only a few days? You're darn right I do.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin