November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

February 10, 2003 // 2:00 p.m. // Secret societies

It's occured to me that it's been a long time since I've mentioned what I've done over the weekend. Usually, it's because it's pretty mundane to recall days after it's happened.

Friday night was the only night in which I hung out with G and B, but the night was full of the juiciest gossip and the hottest rumors. I've been sworn to secrecy (right. Like who would I tell?) but it was definitely one piece of sweet info after another.

The bulk of our conversation (well, other than our commentary on the Michael Jackson interview this past week) revolved around the first two people that I'm actually somewhat close to that are going to be getting married sometime between this May and two to three years from now, depending on who you ask.

Tweety and Jesse.

I've known Tweety since I had a crush on her at some point during my junior year of high school. It's perhaps my best crush story, because it's so funny and a bit embarrassing. Who needs to make them up when you have them at your disposal right?

I've known Jesse since I was in eighth grade. We spent five years (off and on) as interns together at the Utah Museum of Natural History (UMNH), but despite this, we've never really had a conversation with each other besides a question here or a comment there. This would be odd, except for the fact that our internship was divided along age lines for the first few years, and stayed that way for awhile after that. The stories I could tell you about the battles between the seventh and the eighth grade interns. We were close with our grade, tended to hang out outside of school with our own grade, but beyond that, we rarely interacted. With only a few exceptions, we've all kept in touch through one of us even after this internship ended.

I've known Jesse for seven years. I've known Tweety for four years. The weekend before this past one, Jesse asked her to marry him, she said yes, and the wheels of commotion were officially set into motion.

This will definitely be a fun adventure to watch. Two young "kids", a year younger than I, embarking on marriage.

I also realized once again just how secretive our little circle of friends can be. There was no official word that they were together, though we all assumed they were. The stories I could tell about secret friendships, secret crushes, secret dates and girlfriends and more.

We also spent some time distracting ourselves with talk of my potential spring break trip and playing pool. Come to think about it, we didn't play pool. I'm beginning to blend together days right now.

Something else bigger than this happened Sunday, which has carried over into today and has added a ton of drama around here.

I can't believe I'm beginning to say, "drama" all of the sudden.

I was late for my first class, but made the test in my anthropology class and my other two classes. In billiards, I advanced past Katie to move into the next round of the billiards tournament, where I will be facing the kid ranked number one in the class. My chances of beating him are slim and none, because I barely beat Katie in two games today. In fact, I won one after she accidently sank the eight ball, and the other two came down to the last ball. But as it is, I came away with the win, and will soon be losing beginning on Wednesday.

A week from today I'll be 21. A little odd to me. Seeing as how there are five major things currently wrong with my car, that would be the perfect gift, but come on, really. I think I'll just ask my parents for money to head up to the outlet stores for new shoes.

But the car thing...after this weekend and this morning's drama (there's that word again), don't even get me started on shotty cars.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin