November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

August 10, 2003 // 10:30 p.m. // Don't I know you from somewhere?

I went to a concert in Park City (think Sundance Film Festival) a few weeks ago and after the show, I was looking for a girl I had agreed to give a ride to.

When I went out onto the patio at the swank little mountain town, a guy holding a bottle of beer walked up to me and told me that he thought that I went to school with me.

I assumed he meant college. Already at the show two members of the opening band had recognized me from campus, and the week before at a show closer to home, two others recognized me from campus.

And then he mentioned our high school. Surprised, I told him that yes I did go to school with him, and the face of this drunk shaggy haired kid slowly became familiar. "Right on! I love running into people from high school." We spoke for just a few moments after that, and then headed off in different directions. I got his name and committed it to memory to look up when I got home.

From time to time I'll see someone I went to high school with, and occasionally, despite my looking basically the same, they'll recognize me. Usually they don't. And this one really threw me for a loop because with the exception of maybe a sentence or two in a class we may or may not have had together, I don't remember conversing with him at all.

In his drunken state, 6,900 feet above sea level, 25 miles from home and three years removed from high school, he recognized me. And for that, I'm just a bit perplexed.

Well, almost as perplexed as when I found out that the girl I had been chatting with at a show in February had attended the same high achool as I for four years but that we had never seen each other.

What is it with going to that city that leads to these odd reunions?

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin