November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

January 15, 2003 // 6:06 p.m. // Semester 2. Days 1 and 2.

I really wish I hadn't lost that entry. Like I said, I had it perfect. I went back and made changes even after it was complete, and I rarely ever do that. The biggest problem with diaryland is the eaten entries thing.

Briefly, I'm two days into school and as much as I complained about the kids who substituted swear words on the fly and talked about religion, the girls and crushes who fell for the boys who shook their hand and gave them a, "hey sunshine!" and the girls who speak in monologues that became your friend for the semester, I wish I had it all back, because I miss the characters that I don't think I'll find this semester.

I also miss having all of my classes in the same building. My longest trek last semester was walking up or down two flights of stairs. Now, I'm walking uphill a few blocks twice a day.

The "B1" building is one of four in this "B" series. They look like someone took a quarter of a high school hall and put a roof over it. That's all it is. A 150 or so foot long building that consists of one hallway and lockers and classrooms on both sides. These are very odd buildings in that they have no sub-hallways. The whole building is just a hallway with lockers.

The class in this building is geography, with a teacher we have yet to meet due to his experiencing problems with his American visa. He visited family in England over the break, and will be landing here tomorrow night before returning to work Friday morning at 8:00 a.m. Personally, I think he's crazy. The worst thing about the class is the fact that there are no aisles. I'm a half arm length from touching the people on my left and right.

Botany requires a long walk, and is equipped with stadium seating. It seems every science class is made for 100 or so students. My only comment thus far is the teacher is entertaining, and that there are some students with some very famous names in there. Perhaps the best news is that the $90.00 text book is optional and not required, as all of our info will come from notes and class discussions.

Anthropology is the class in which the girl who sits in front of me looks like my cousin the piano virtuoso. Only this girl isn't as bright. She's the type of student who always raises her hand and always gets the answer ridiculously wrong. For instance, when the teacher asked where and what Ellis Island was, her hand shot up like a rocket and she answered excited and confidently, "I know where that is. I've been there. It's off the coast of San Francisco..." I corrected her by raising my hand and mentioning that it's on the other side of the country and the first American destination for many of the immigrants who crossed the Atlantic Ocean around the turn of the century. I think she was thinking of Alcatraz or Catalina Island.

Her next "greatest moment" came when the teacher asked for ways humans have adapted. Her response: "People adapt all the time when they go to other countries and have to adapt to other countries food and currency." Personally, the response of altitude changes that another student gave was a better response, but still not the greatest.

Billiards is...billiards. We spent Monday practicing what seemed to be a simple shot, but which turned out (for me at least. My partner did fine) to be quite difficult. I think I only made about three out of fourty or so shots after she did everything she did to teach me how to complete the task she was able to complete eight times out of ten. I think of the scenes from Karate Kid when I tell the tale of the monotonous task of shooting the cue ball off the other side of the table over and over and over in an attempt to get it to return to you and of White Men Can't Jump, because I just know this girl is a ringer, and will take al the boys' money. This explains it best: "You have to learn the fundimentals before you even play your first game." Think of it as if you wanted to play basketball, but before your instructor let you shoot the ball, he made you dribble the ball for two full hours.

We began our skill test today (in which I somehow succeeded on that shot we practiced, albeit in a roundabout unconventional way) which will likely take two to three weeks. The good news is the person I'm working with now and I are half way through, meaning we'll have weeks to work on our shots while the rest of the class is still getting tested to give the instructors an idea of where we are in our skill and or luck level.

Yes, it's an awful attempt at recreating this entry, but I had to try. Or at least put it down while it's still fresh.

And I still didn't get everything down. Like how I saw Pop Star both days (with a boy trying to impress her with his knot tying skills) and Movie Star once, who talked to me (if, "hey" is considered talking) briefly, or how just like every other semester, the students all seem to know each other on the first day of the semester like it's high school or something.

Not so brief after all, right? That's what happenxs when your mind changes mid-entry.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin