January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

July 21, 2002 // 11:16 p.m. // Three drivers are better than two

Rather than compose a list, (which is exactly what I want to do after two hours of sleep last night) I think I'll share how absolutely great it is to have three drivers in the family rather than just two.

Now, if my sister wants to go to the store, or the mall or a movie or a friends house, she can drive herself. Better yet, come August, none of us will have to clear our schedules from 2-3 p.m. because Ms. High Maintenance doesn't want to take the bus. Life is no doubt much easier, especially since she actually volunteers to take my mom places. When she's sick of driving like I eventually became, we'll likely have to take turns shuttling her around again. No, my mom never learned to drive. "We couldn't afford to have a car, so why learn to drive?"

Exactly.

So for the past 30+ years, she's relied on someone to take her somewhere, and until four years ago, my dad was the only driver in the house. Of course, this meant she becamse quite familiar with public transportation very quickly.

But bottom line: She (my sister, not my mom) can drive now. And if I had to run her to Hollywood Video to return A Walk To Remember at 11:15 at night, I don't know what I'd do.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin