January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 18, 2002 // 10:24 p.m. // The tales of the shuttle

I just got back from a football game, and rather than bore you with the details or a summary, I'll just provide somehing else.

By the numbers:

Girls who complimented my hair tonight: Three.

Boys who complimented my hair tonight: Three.

People I recognized: Three.

CD's bought earlier in the day: Two.

$$ I spent on alma matter paraphernalia: 35.

Items they had in the size I wanted: 0

Layers I wore on top: four.

Miles driven today (approx): 90.

Shuttle busses I let pass before getting on one today: Two.

________________________________________________________________________________

I'm going to speak on the shuttle bus topic (because it was a recurring theme in most of my classes) for a minute. At our school, you can either pay $40 for a parking pass or park at the arena five blocks away and take a shuttle bus to the school. I bought a pass my freshman year and used it all of one week. I related all to well to Aaron's story of finding a place to park the first day, missing class altogether the second day and finally parking the third day because it's exactly what I went through down to the day.

Lindsey and James never have, and are determined they never will ride the shuttle bus. All I could do was laugh. When they miss out next year on the parking passes they won this year, they'll be singing a different tune.

Beau, Aaron and I had fun discussing the awkwardness that comes with the shuttle bus ride. They pack us in tight. Those that have to stand in the aisle have to hang on for dear life, and if you're too short to reach the handles? Pray.

Another fun thing is the seats that face sideways. One set of busses has seats that face forward (like a school bus or Greyhound, etc.) and the other has seats that face the windows. You don't want these seats, trust me. It's why I let two busses pass before getting on one. And why don't you want these seats? Because facing the window means you're staring at the crotch of whomever is standing in the aisle way. No one is confortable with this. It's unavoidable too. You can't even hide it with doing homework or reading a book.

Perhaps the only thing worse than this is how polite the other students are when it comes to exiting the shuttle bus. I'm not saying we should be elbowing each other out of the way, but there is no reason for me to be the last person on the shuttle because the girl sitting next to me has waited for everyone behind us (all ten seats, twenty people and eight or so standing) to exit before getting up. Exiting the shuttle bus is definitely not for the meek. If you're in the aisle seat, you have to (with a little bit of aggressiveness) push your way through.

Oh, the stories I could tell of my trips on the shuttle. Like the afternoon we were packed side by side in the aisle, which meant the 100 person or so capacity shuttle held about 175 people or the day I dropped my Coke bottle and listened as it rolled all under the feet of others all the way to the back of the shuttle.

It's never a dull moment on university transportation. James and Lindsey don't know what they're missing out on.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin