January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 14, 2002 // 8:29 p.m. // Hot in here pt. 2

7:56. Four minutes before my show is to start. Rudy was on. I changed the channel. Three minutes later, my dad woke up. Gotta love perfect timing.

I'm destined to either watch the mystery show with my father or not at all. I'm hoping he'll help my sister with her car, or go across the street to the neighbors house to sort out the title on the car we had for two seconds or perhaps go back to sleep. Last night, it was Dillinger. Tonight, it's Rudy. At least his movie choices are improving.

8:04. Commercial. He's getting up...to go outside....or not. His departure lasted less than a minute. Commercial break over, and he's back.

It's really odd watching televsion with my father. Especially when neither of us are speaking and he's watching more intently than I am. It reminds me of the Simpsons episode where Homer is losing touch with Bart, and decides to take interest in the things Bart likes. Well, not quite. He's not out buying Weezer and Get Up Kids albums, but he is using Kardinal Offishall's, "Ol' Time Killin'" as montage music to a movie, and a week or so ago, I caught him listening to N' Sync. Don't ask. All I wonder is who downloaded it.

"Drippy, drippy, drippy. It's so hot." Direct quote from my mom. You see, it's 92 degrees in the house, the air is very stale, and the swamp cooler is broken. We have no windows or doors open either. The conversation continued:

"Why don't we turn on the air coolant system we bought and put in the living room to counteract the broken swamp cooler motor?"

"It makes the house humid."

"But it also makes the house 20 degrees cooler."

So goes my family. The swamp cooler motor breaks, and rather than fixing it, they buy a whole new cooler system that is a) more expensive than fixing the motor, b) very noisy and c) is in the living room taking up space due to how bulky it is. We used it for one day, and it's been sitting ever since.

(rolls eyes) When the swamp cooler worked, we couldn't turn it on after 8 or so, because she got too cold. With this, we can't turn it on period, because the house gets humid. We should return it and fix the swamp cooler. We still have a few months of heat.

My dad has finally gone outside and is no longer watching television with me. But minutes later, my mom woke up, took up a spot on the settee and began watching almost right where he left off.

A boy just can't win, can he?

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin