January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 06, 2002 // 2:11 p.m. // It's not just a microwave, it blows air too!

After two days and 90 degree temperatures from 7:00 a.m. to 11:30 p.m., we finally have air.

Not quite.

You see, the swamp cooler has a broken motor, and we bought something that looks like a giant microwave that blows very cold air with the side effect being it smells like VapoRub. Seriously, when you walk in the house, you'd think someone was sick, and to make matters worse, it's right by the door, filling the living room with VapoRub goodness.

I could go off on a tangent about how we tend to buy new things when something breaks, but I won't. Actually, I will. It's important.

We bought a new TV when mine stopped working. And two new VCR's when two TV/VCR combos lost their VHS capabilities. And the computer? Just get another one. The laptop? Just get another one. This is why my parents are constantly broke. About the only thing we don't do this with is cars, which we overly fix, only to have them overly break down.

I'm wondering if the swamp cooler motor will get fixed. I hope it does, because it's just outside of my room. One step, and I'm under it. It's less than a foot from the threshold. This new contraption does nothing for me. It's 20 or so feet and three rooms away, plus it's very loud. And it looks like a microwave.

I was going to rant here on the Anna Nicole Smith show, but this came up. Just know that I seem to have opposite views from most I have read who have discussed this. Actually, it's hardly a rant. It's more of an expression of my opinion. But you know how Diaryland is. If it's not status quo, you're the devil. Actually, I should put that on a t-shirt. Either that, or "Diaryland: What's with all the drama?" I know my good friends would get a kick out of it.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin