November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

March 19, 2003 // 7:18 a.m. // You say "I've never watched The Simpsons" like it's a bad thing

I've totally avoided online diaries, and almost the computer in general all this week because I've been a touch ranty in my own head. My family is frustrating me, someone I know in a vague way is frustrating me, and

Things discussed/debated around the house/around others houses over the last three days: The war and anti-war views, the President, those loveable Dixie Chicks, The Simpsons, odd Elizabeth Smart theories (which I must say, sparked nods of 'ohhhhhkkkkkkkayyyyy I guess it's possible') and marriage. I could do without war and Elizabeth Smart discussions if for no other reasons than I come up with jokes that are far too inappropriate about both.

I took step one in stepping out of the Burger King/Wendy's/KFC/mac and cheese rut by trying Indian food at G's last night, though I must admit my motives for going were more to see old acquaintances from my museum intern days.

It was a bunch of fun because there was a lot of reminiscing, catching up and new faces. Also, I hadn't thought that eight of the eleven of us that were there who all had ties to the same museum internship dating back seven and eight years would ever occupy the same room together again. I also must add that I often forget that people who knew me from high school and haven't seen me since are totally taken aback in the way I've changed my appearance. It goes both ways. People who never knew me then (notably Chantilli) are just as surprised that I didn't always look the way I do.

Reminiscing is fun. New food is fun. Even watching shows like Howard Stern and ESPN World's Strongest Women contests is fun. (hey, there isn't enough march madness to be shown at 11:30 p.m. I also had no excuses for how I knew the competitors by name and placement due to watching under similar circumstances last year)

I suppose it was worse on Saturday night because on Saturday night we opted to watch two episodes of Robot Wars-complete with yelling and screaming for the Robots we picked-for an hour and the hybrid basketball game, Slamball.

I suppose 90 minutes of TNN were enough. As soon as the opening credits for Baywatch began to roll, we finally went out to eat.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin