November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 13, 2003 // 9:09 a.m. // Weddings

Everyone is married/getting married. What's an even bigger surprise is all of these people are younger than I.

I found out while riding in a car with girls that T.E.N.T.'s step-sister got married earlier that day and that T.E.N.T. was engaged and looking to get married soon. In the case of the former, she didn't get along at all with the boy she ended up marrying when I knew them in high school. In the latter, she and her fianc� only dated for nine days before getting engaged.

Ages: 19 and 20 respectively.

Also, half of the married couple that was at Britt's house is still in high school. She doesn't graduate until later this month, yet the two have been married for at least four months. The girl was a freshman in high school when I was her age. It's so weird that she's married.

Another couple I know contains one person who just turned 21 yesterday. He went from not having a date to senior prom to being married with a child just 22 months later.

Not to mention another couple, both 20 I believe, are getting married this fall.

How intimidating is it when the latest statistic is that 50% of the people on campus at my school are married? Talking with kids in class that are my age or younger and hearing them begin sentences with, "my wife" makes that number very believable. This doesn't even count the number of engaged couples, which if the english class that featured 12 people getting engaged during the previous summer alone is any indication, is high.

I can just see the dialogue with one of my young in-class crushes:

"So, do you want to go out to dinner?"

(uncomfortable) "I'm married."

(even more uncomfortable) "Um...wow...ok...so...good luck with that."

We discussed why people seem to get married at a young age here (and elsewhere) in anthropology class, but our discussion evolved from a conversation about marriage to a immature LDS vs. non-LDS war with bashing on both sides.

These young marriages shouldn't be a surprise here, but it is. Every time I hear that a friend from high school is getting married or engaged or in some cases even divorced, it's a shock. Even so, I've yet to go to a single wedding of theirs, but anticipate that sooner rather than later there will be even more weddings planned for me to attend.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin