January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

July 19, 2002 // 6:56 a.m. // A conversation with I know who

"Ann Wilson is undergoing that operation to make her skinnier." (gastric bypass)

"I thought she already had that done."

"No, that was Carnie Wilson."

"Then who is Ann Wilson?"

"Ann Wilson was in the band Heart with her sister Nancy."

"Then who is Carnie Wilson again?"

"She's Brian Wilson's daughter. The Beach Boy. She looks like Ricki Lake. She's the one who had the operation."

"Oh. (brief pause) Then who is Wendy Wilson? I thought Wendy was Nancy's sister."

"Ugh. Wendy is Carnie's sister."

"Boy, there sure are a lot of people from that family in music. Oh. And who is Wilson Phillips?"

"I hate you, you know."

"I know."

"So, who is she?"

"Wilson Phillips isn't a 'she.' It's a band. Of Carnie, Wendy and Chynna Phillips. Just watch the Heart 'Behind the Music' and you'll be set. And don't you dare ask me who Wendy O. Williams is."

"I know who she is. The crazy chick from the Plasmatics."

"Good. You have one right."

"One more question."

(exasperated sigh) "What?"

"Who is Mackenzie Phillips?"

"You know what? You're frustrating me on purpose."

Of course, by this time, we were both laughing too hard to care. She knew I knew who these people were the whole time, but I maintain I was testing her knowledge as well as her patience. I only do that with her because she lets me. Conversations like that are priceless.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin