January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021
Recapping a friendship #1 - December 20, 2021
The one where I have a rough weekend and debate sharing it publicly. - December 19, 2021

December 17, 2002 // 6:55 p.m. // Worrying for nothing? (Yep)

I'm sure I'm worrying for nothing, because I tend to do that, but I can't reach anyone in my family.

This morning, my mom asked me to pick her up, due to my sister not being able to. A few minutes later, she told me I didn't have to, because my dad would.

At about 3:45, my dad called, telling me to call her because (surprise surprise) he left his cell phone here. In fact, he called it minutes before he called home.

I called my mom, still at work, and she apparently heard nothing I said, what with 30 or so four year-olds in the background. She did pretend to hear everything, and seemed to pick up on the fact that my dad was on his way. So she calls a few minutes later, I repeat that he's on his way and that he has no cell phone with him. She tells me my sister is there to pick her up right then and to call my dad to tell him not to pick her up.

Only he doesn't have his cell phone. His cell phone is here. She knows this. I tell her for the third time.

What happens? She calls his phone *again.* And that's the last I heard. It was entertaining and a bit frustrating except for the fact that that occurred three hours ago, and I've heard nothing from any of them since. And what with the slick roads out there, I have too many bad thoughts in my head.

I do know that they (someone) has been home since 4:00. A piece of mail that arrived after I brought it in was mysteriously placed on the chair that I'm currently sitting in, and his cell phone is now not at home.

I'm hoping they shut their phones off and are at a play or something (that's laughable. Plus, they'd invite me). Perhaps they are at my sister's school. It is about parent/teacher confrence time.

But for all of their phones to be off? And they normally would have come home and dropped off a car and all gone together.

I'm sure I'm worrying over nothing, but I am a bit worried. Even so, I'm not going to leave here until Seinfeld is over. How's that for awful? Worried about my family, but it's 6:53 and I'm waiting five minutes so I can finish watching my third episode of Seinfeld today.

20 seconds later (still at 6:53): My sister has just dropped off my mom. Apparently she didn't hear her phone. Sheesh. It's all good. They were at her school for a basketball game.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin